HOME -> PARLINE -> RUSSIAN FEDERATION (Gossoudarstvennaya Duma)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Gossoudarstvennaya Duma (State Duma)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Federalnoye Sobraniye / Federal Assembly
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Gossoudarstvennaya Duma / State Duma
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Soviet Federatsii / Council of the Federation
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 18 September 2016
Purpose of elections United Russia, led by Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev, won a clear victory. It increased its share of seats from 53% to 76% in the 450-member State Duma. Three other parties, which were generally supportive to the presidency in the outgoing legislature, maintained their parliamentary representation with a significantly reduced number of seats. The Communist Party (KPRF), led by Mr. Gennady Zyuganov, remained the second largest party. The Liberal Democratic Party of Russia (LDPR) of Mr. Vladimir Zhirinovsky became the third largest party, ahead of A Just Russia, led by the former Chairman of the Council of the Republic, Mr. Sergey Mironov. The main opposition parties - Yabloko and People's Freedom Party (PARNAS) – failed to win parliamentary representation.

The elections also took place in Crimea, a Ukrainian territory annexed by Russia in 2014, and these were contested by Ukraine and other countries. The annexation triggered economic sanctions against Russia from the US, the European Union and other countries. Russia's economy officially entered into recession in 2015. During the election campaign, Prime Minister Medvedev called on voters' support, stating that the country was "under pressure from outside forces" and needed to come together. President Vladimir Putin promised to provide "stability in society and the political system".
Date of previous elections: 4 December 2011

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: September 2021

Number of seats at stake: 450 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: About 6,500

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 14

Number of parties winning seats: 6

Alternation of power: No

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 5 October 2016

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Vyacheslav Volodin (United Russia)
Voter turnout
Round no 118 September 2016
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
52'700'992 (47.88%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
United Russia
Communist Party (KPRF)
Liberal Democratic Party of Russia (LDPR)
A Just Russia
Rodina (Motherland)
Civic Platform (Grazhdanskaya Platforma)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
United Russia 343
Communist Party (KPRF) 42
Liberal Democratic Party of Russia (LDPR) 39
A Just Russia 23
Rodina (Motherland) 1
Civic Platform (Grazhdanskaya Platforma) 1
Independents 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on the distribution of seats:
One independent candidate elect joined the United Russia before the first session of the newly elected State Duma.

State Duma (05.10.2016, 01.01.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union