HOME -> PARLINE -> RWANDA (Chambre des Députés)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Chambre des Députés (Chamber of Deputies)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parliament / Parlement
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Chambre des Députés / Chamber of Deputies
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Sénat / Senate
Electoral Law 7 July 2003
Last updated: 25.07.2008
Mode of designation directly elected 53
indirectly elected 27
Constituencies One nationwide constituency for 53 directly elected members.
Number of women's seats following the 2006 territorial administrative reforms which abolished previous constituencies:
- Eastern, Southern, Western provinces: 6 each
- Northern Province: 4
- Kigali City: 2
Voting system Proportional: The proportional representation system using closed party lists (for the 53 directly elected members):
Seats are allocated according to the system of the largest remainder to parties and independent candidates who obtain at least 5 per cent of the total votes cast.
In cases where there is only one seat to fill and the lists obtain the same number of votes using the largest remainder formula, the seat is awarded to the list that receives the largest number of actual votes.
Vacancies for members elected under the proportional representation system are filled by the "next-in-line" candidate of the same party in cases where the remainder of their term exceeds one year. By-elections are held if seats occupied by independent candidates become vacant.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - Age: 18 years old on election day
- Rwandan nationality
- Registration on the voters' list
Rwandans abroad, who are not refugees, are entitled to register to be placed on the voters' list at their country's embassies.
- Persons who have been stripped of the right to vote by competent courts of law and have not been absolved or granted amnesty in accordance with the law;
- Persons who have been convicted of the crime of genocide and crimes against humanity, as provided for under paragraphs 1 and 2 of Article 51 of organic law no. 16/2004 of 19/6/2004 establishing the organization, competence and functioning of Gacaca courts entrusted with prosecuting and trying the perpetrators of the crime of genocide and other crimes against humanity committed between 1 October 1990 and 31 December 1994, as amended and supplemented to date;
- Persons who have confessed to the crime of genocide and crimes against humanity;
- Refugees;
- Detainees.
Eligibility - Qualified voters
- Age: 21 years old on election day
- Rwandan nationality
- Persons of integrity (i.e. persons who have not been proven guilty of the crime of genocide or divisionism or genocide ideology; persons who have not been convicted and sentenced to a prison term of more than or equal to six months and without being rehabilitated; and persons who have not been dismissed from the civil service)
- Persons who are legal wards;
- Persons found to be responsible by judicial decision for the bankruptcy of companies and establishments which they used to manage as long as they have not been rehabilitated;
- Persons with a mental handicap as certified by a State-accredited physician;
- Members of the Rwanda Defence Forces, the National Police or the National Security Service.
Incompatibilities - Head of State
- Ministers of State
- Members of the Senate
- Members of the District or City of Kigali Councils
- Member of the Sector Council
- Member of the "Cellule" (the smallest administrative unit) or Village Council
- Employee of the District or the City of Kigali
- Judges
- Prosecutors
- Civil servants or employees of a public institution
- Persons employed under a job contract
- Members of the National Electoral Commission
- Members of the Rwanda Defence Forces, the National Police or the National Security Service
With the exception of judges and members of the Rwanda Defence Forces, the National Police or the National Security Service, the exercise of functions incompatible with the office of a member of parliament (deputy) does not deprive the above-mentioned persons of the right to be elected. However, immediately upon their election, they are required to resign from these positions.
Candidacy requirements - Submission of candidatures by a political party or by independent candidates at least 35 days prior to election day.
- Each party list may contain up to 80 candidates.
- Independent candidates must submit a list of signatures of at least six hundred (600) registered Rwandan voters, including at least twelve (12) domiciled in each district.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union