HOME -> PARLINE -> TUVALU (Palamene o Tuvalu)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Palamene o Tuvalu (Parliament of Tuvalu)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Palamene / Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 31 March 2015
Purpose of elections Prime Minister Enele Sopoaga's supporters won 11 seats in the 15 member Parliament. The elections involved only independent candidates, as there are no political parties in Tuvalu. 12 outgoing members were returned, including two candidates who were re-elected unopposed (Mr. Sopoaga and Natural Resources Minister Elisala Pita). Two first-time members and one former MP won the remaining seats. Ms. Puakena Boreham became the third woman ever to enter Parliament. Mr. Sopoaga's new Cabinet was sworn in on 10 April, with former Prime Minister Maatia Toafa as his Deputy.

The 2015 elections were initially called for 19 March (see note) but were postponed due to Cyclone Pam which affected outer islands in Tuvalu. During the election campaign, Prime Minister Sopoaga promised to revise the Constitution, to address chronic political instability in the country. Since the previous elections held in September 2010, the country has had three Prime Ministers and three Speakers. Prime Minister Mr. Maatia Toafa lost a motion of no-confidence on 15 December 2010 after only three months in office and was succeeded by Mr. Willy Telavi. In August 2013, the new government led by Mr. Sopoaga took office. In March 2014, he moved a motion to remove Speaker Kamuta Latasi, who was succeeded as President by Mr. Otinielu Tauteleimalae Tausi.

Note on the timing of elections:
Article 118 (1) of the Constitution stipulates that "Parliament is automatically dissolved at the end of the period of four years after the date of its first sitting after a general election". Following a civil case, asking the court to confirm that (1) the session held on 30 September 2010 was the first parliamentary session after the 2010 elections; and (2) parliament would automatically be dissolved on 30 September 2014, on 17 July 2014, the High Court ruled that the meeting on 30 September 2010 was not a sitting of Parliament.
In light of the ruling, the outgoing legislature is considered to have started on 19 December 2010 and ended on 19 December 2014. Since article 88 (1) of the Constitution states "There shall be a general election as soon as practicable after every dissolution of Parliament", without indicating the period during which general elections need to be held, the 2015 elections are considered to have been held upon normal expiry.
Date of previous elections: 16 September 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 19 December 2014

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: 2019*
*See the note on the timing of elections.

Number of seats at stake: 15 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 32 (29 men, 3 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 9.4%

Number of parties contesting the election: N/A*
*Tuvalu has no party system.

Number of parties winning seats: N/A

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: N/A

Names of parties in government: N/A

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 10 April 2015*
*Although the legislature elected in March 2015 convened for the first time on 10 April 2015, in accordance with the High Court ruling of July 2014, the four-year term of Parliament starts on 17 June 2015, when the first parliamentary session is due to start.

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Otinielu Tauteleimalae Tausi
Voter turnout
Distribution of votes
Distribution of seats
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Source: Parliament (13.04.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union