HOME -> PARLINE -> TIMOR-LESTE (National Parliament )
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Parliament

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name National Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 12 May 2018
Purpose of elections The Alliance of Change for Progress (AMP, see note 1), led by former President and Prime Minister Xanana Gusmão, won a majority in the 65-member Parliament. It defeated the Revolutionary Front for an independent East Timor (FRETILIN) led by President Francisco "Lu Olo" Guterres, which had led a minority government with the Democratic Party (PD) after the 2017 elections (see note 2). During the 2018 election campaign, the major parties promised to develop education and healthcare and to boost the agriculture and tourism sectors.

Note 1:
The AMP comprises Mr. Gusmao's National Congress for Timorese Reconstruction (CNRT), the People's Liberation Party (PLP) and the Kmanek Haburas Unidade Nasional Timor Oan (KHUNTO), a youth party established before the 2017 elections.

Note 2:
The minority government, led by Mr. Mari Alkatiri (FRETILIN) - the country's first prime minister after independence from Indonesia in 2002 - was unable to pass key legislation including the country's budget in the Parliament controlled by the CNRT-led opposition. After the budget was rejected twice by Parliament in October and December 2017, the President dissolved Parliament in January 2018 and called for fresh elections for May, less than 10 months after the previous elections.
Date of previous elections: 22 July 2017

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 26 January 2018

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: May 2023

Number of seats at stake: 65 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available.

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 8

Number of parties winning seats: 4

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Alliance of Change for Progress (AMP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 13 June 2018

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Arão Noé Amaral (National Congress for Timorese Reconstruction, CNRT)
Voter turnout
Round no 112 May 2018
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
675'721 (86.16%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Alliance of Change for Progress (AMP)
Revolutionary Front for an independent East Timor (FRETILIN)
Democratic Development Forum (FDD)
Democratic Party (PD)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Alliance of Change for Progress (AMP) 35
Revolutionary Front for an independent East Timor (FRETILIN) 23
Democratic Development Forum (FDD) 4
Democratic Party (PD) 3
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Parliament (29.05.2018)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union