HOME -> PARLINE -> BAHRAIN (Majlis Al-Nuwab)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Majlis Al-Nuwab (Council of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Al-Majlis Al-Watani / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Majlis Al-Nuwab / Council of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlis Al-Shura / Shura Council
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) (from/to)22 November 2014
29 November 2014
Purpose of elections Independent candidates took 35 of the 40 seats in the Council of Representatives in the 2014 elections. Two Sunni "political associations" (see note) took two seats respectively. Only 10 members of the outgoing legislature were re-elected. Three women were elected, up from only one in 2010. The Islamic National Accord Association, a Shia opposition political society which won 18 seats in 2010, boycotted the elections in support of their demands for political reforms.

Many candidates promised to create more jobs - in particular for young people - and provide more housing so as to improve living standards. The 2014 elections were the first to be held since violent confrontations took place in 2011 following calls from the Shia majority for greater political voice. The National Consensus Dialogue, launched in July 2011, led to the adoption of constitutional amendments in May 2012 which enhanced the directly elected Council of Representatives and reduced the power of the King and the appointed Shura Council.

Although political parties are not allowed, "political associations" were legalized by an amendment in 2005 to the 1989 law prohibiting political parties. In the 2010 elections, 23 of the 40 elected members belonged to political associations.
Date of previous elections: 23 & 30 October 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: October 2018

Number of seats at stake: 40 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 266 (243 men, 23 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 8.6%

Number of parties contesting the election: N/A

Number of parties winning seats: N/A*
*Two political societies won seats.

Alternation of power: N/A

Number of parties in government: N/A

Names of parties in government: N/A

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 14 December 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Ahmed Bin Ebrahim Almulla
Voter turnout
Round no 1 (from/to)22 November 2014
29 November 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
183'936 (52.6%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Assala Association
National Islamic Tribune Association (Al Menbar)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Independents 35
Assala Association 2
National Islamic Tribune Association (Al Menbar) 2
Others 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Source: Council of Representatives (04.12.2014, 16.03.2015, 16.09.2018)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union