HOME -> PARLINE -> SRI LANKA (Parliament)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 7 September 1978
1978 Constitution (Last updated on 3 Oct. 2001)
Mode of designation directly elected 225
Constituencies - 22 multi-member (4 to 20 seats, depending on population) constituencies (for 196 seats)
- one nationwide constituency (29 seats)
Voting system Proportional: Proportional representation system with preferential voting for 196 seats. Each elector selects specific party or independent group and three of its candidates. Parties polling less than one eighth of vote in each constituency are not entitled for seat allocation.
The remaining 29 "national" seats are distributed to political parties in proportion to their overall share of the votes received in the election.
Vacancies filled by substitutes nominated by same party or group which held seat in question.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Sri Lankan citizenship
- residence in constituency where voting is held
- disqualifications: insanity, imprisonment of six months or more (in preceding 7 years), death sentence, conviction for corrupt or illegal practice connected with elections, imposition of civic disability.
Eligibility - qualified electors
- age: 18 years
- Sri lankan citizenship
- ineligibility: undischarged bankrupt, interest in government contract, acceptance of bribe or gratification offered with view to influencing judgment as MP (in preceding 7 years).
Incompatibilities - holders of public offices
- certain employees of corporations
- membership of police or armed forces
- Judicial officers, Secretary General of Parliament and his staff, members of the Public Service Commission and Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration (Ombudsman)
Candidacy requirements - nomination lists submitted from seventh to fifth week prior to polling
- in each district, a party or independent group can nominate up to three more candidates than there are seats to be filled
- groups must also deposit 2,000 rupees per candidate (reimbursable if group polls more than one-eighth of the votes cast in the district)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union