HOME -> PARLINE -> ALBANIA (Kuvendi)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Kuvendi (Parliament)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name Albanian Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 16 May 1997
Last updated on 19 July 2012 (law 74/2012)
Mode of designation directly elected 140
Constituencies 12 multi-member constituencies corresponding to Albania's 12 administrative regions (from 4 to 32 seats)
Voting system Proportional: All the 140 members of the Parliament are elected through a proportional representation system within constituencies corresponding to the 12 administrative regions.
Seats are firstly allocated to electoral coalitions in a regional constituency using D'Hondt divisors (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, et seq.), and secondly to political parties within a coalition using Sainte-Laguë divisors (1, 3, 5, 7, 9, et seq.).
The threshold to win parliamentary representation is 3 percent for political parties and 5 per cent for pre-election coalitions.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by candidates on the electoral list who are from the same party and are the same gender as the departing member. The process of filling vacancies does not take account of the replacement candidate's ranking in the electoral list. The process continues until there are no more candidates of the same gender on the list.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - Age: 18 years
- Albanian citizenship
- Disqualifications: court decision of unlawful act, insanity, imprisonment, arrest
Eligibility - Qualified electors
- Age: 18 years
- Albanian citizenship
- Permanent residence in country for at least six months
Incompatibilities (not applicable)
Candidacy requirements - Nomination by legally recognized political or social organizations/associations
- At least 30% of the multi-name list and one of the first three names on the list shall belong to each gender
- Support of 300 or more electors in the case of independent candidates

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union