HOME -> PARLINE -> ARMENIA (Azgayin Zhoghov)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Azgayin Zhoghov (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Azgayin Zhoghov / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 2 April 2017
Purpose of elections President Serzh Sargsyan's Republican Party of Armenia (HHK) retained an absolute majority in the 105-member National Assembly. The HHK won nearly twice more seats than its main rival, the Tsarukyan bloc, led by a wealthy businessman Gagik Tsarukyan. Both parties support close ties with Russia. Prime Minister Karen Karapetyan, who succeeded Mr. Hovik Abrahamyan in September 2016, led the HHK campaign, promising to continue the Government’s ongoing reforms. The Tsarukyan bloc promised to boost public-sector salaries and pensions.

The 2017 elections were the first to be held after the constitutional amendments, adopted in a referendum in December 2015. The parliamentary system (with a ceremonial President to be elected by parliament), instead of the current semi-presidential system, will become operational after the incumbent President’s term expires in 2018. The statutory number of members in the National Assembly has decreased from 131 to 101. The new electoral law foresees up to four seats for minority representatives (Yezidis, Russians, Assyrians and Kurds). The new electoral law foresees an additional four seats for minority representatives (Yezidis, Russians, Assyrians and Kurds). In accordance with the new electoral code, which came into force in July 2016, the 2017 elections were held under the proportional representation system (instead of the mixed system). The new electoral system provides for a possible second round of voting so as to achieve a “stable parliamentary majority” (54 per cent of the total seats). At least 30 per cent of the candidates in the first part of the national list (excluding the section reserved for minorities) must be women.
Date of previous elections: 6 May 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 18 May 2017*
*The outgoing legislature is dissolved upon convening of the newly elected legislature.

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: April 2022

Number of seats at stake: 101 (full renewal)*
* Up to four minority representatives may be elected in addition.

Number of candidates: 1,558

Percentage of women candidates: About 30%

Number of parties contesting the election: 9*
*5 parties and 4 coalitions

Number of parties winning seats: 4*
*Including 2 coalitions.

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Republican Party of Armenia (HHK)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 18 May 2017

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Ara Babloyan (Republican Party of Armenia, HHK)
Voter turnout
Round no 12 April 2017
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
1'575'786 (60.95%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Republican Party of Armenia (HHK)
Tsarukyan bloc
"Way Out" alliance (Yelq)
Armenian Revolutionary Federation (Dashnaktsutiun)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Minority rep.
Republican Party of Armenia (HHK) 58 3
Tsarukyan bloc 31 1
"Way Out" alliance (Yelq) 9 0
Armenian Revolutionary Federation (Dashnaktsutiun) 7 0
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on the distribution of seats according to sex:
The National Assembly - elected in April 2017 -, comprised 101 directly elected members who included 17 women, and four minority representatives, who included one woman, or a total of 18 women out of 105 members.
In May, one male member, who was not a minority representative, resigned and was replaced by a woman, bringing the total number of women to 19.

Following the elections, the Tsarukyan bloc formed the Tsarukyan faction, and the "Way Out" alliance (Yelq) formed the "Way Out" faction within the National Assembly.

National Assembly (03.05.2017, 31.05.2017, 27.06.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union