HOME -> PARLINE -> BELGIUM (Chambre des Représentants)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Chambre des Représentants (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlement fédéral - Federaal Parlement - Föderales Parlament / Federal Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Chambre des Représentants / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Sénat - Senaat - Senat / Senate
Electoral Law 4 December 1894
Last amendment: 11 October 2011
Mode of designation directly elected 150
Constituencies 11 multi-member constituencies (between four and 24 seats each)*
*The constituencies of Brussels-Halle-Vilvoorde and Leuven were replaced by those of Brussels-Capital (corresponding to the administrative district of Brussels-Capital) and Flemish Brabant (corresponding to the province of Brabant). The latter comprises the electoral canton of Sint Genesius Rode. Voters in this canton may vote either for the list presented in Brussels-Capital or in the Flemish Brabant constituency.
Voting system Proportional: Party-list system.
Each party submits one list for each constituency.
On a candidates’ list, there cannot be more than a one-place difference between candidates (titular and substitute) of each sex.
The first two candidates(titular and substitute) on each list cannot be of the same sex.
Seats are distributed according to the d'Hondt method. Vote-splitting is not provided for, but preferential voting with respect to the same list is possible.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by substitutes chosen at the same time as titular members.
Voting is compulsory; any unjustified abstention is punishable, with penalties ranging from a possible fine to removal from the register.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Belgian citizenship
Disqualifications: criminal conviction (suspension of rights: insanity, imprisonment, as long as the persons concerned remain in an incapacitated state)
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 18 years
- Belgian citizenship
- full possession of civil and political rights
- residence in country
Incompatibilities - Ministers of Government
- any paid function undertaken pursuant to government decision
- membership of another legislative assembly (Senate, community or regional council)
- civil servant or salaried employee of the State, provincial Clerk, State-paid clergyman, public-service lawyer, Treasury official, Government commissioner for private companies, etc.
Candidacy requirements - supporting signature of 200 to 500 electors (depending on the size of the constituency), or three outgoing members of Parliament.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union