HOME -> PARLINE -> BHUTAN (Tshogdu)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Tshogdu (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Chi Tshog / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Tshogdu / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Gyelyong Tshogde / National Council
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 13 July 2013
Purpose of elections Mr. Tshering Tobgay's People's Democratic Party (PDP) won an absolute majority, taking 32 of the National Assembly's 47 seats, whereas it had only won two seats in the 2008 elections. Although it was leading after the primary round (see note), Prime Minister Jigme Thinley's Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) saw its share fall from 45 to 15 seats.

The 2013 election was the second election in the history of parliamentary democracy in Bhutan. Initially five parties, including three new parties, were registered for the elections. However, only four parties contested the primary round as one party did not fulfill the criteria of furnishing a list of all 47 candidates to the Election Commission of Bhutan.

On 28 July, the new government, which comprised the first-ever woman minister in Bhutan, was formed with Mr. Tshering Tobgay (PDP) as the Prime Minister. The 2013 elections were declared as being free and fair by international election observers.

Four parties contested the primary round in May 2013, in which the ruling DPT won 44.52 per cent of the votes against the PDP's 32.53 per cent. Only the two leading parties in the primary elections contest the second (general) round of elections to the National Assembly.
Date of previous elections: 24 March 2008

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 20 April 2013

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry*
*A general election had to be called within 90 days of the expiry of the term of the previous legislature on 20 April (i.e. by 20 July).

Expected date of next elections: July 2018

Number of seats at stake: 47 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 94 (84 men, 10 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 8.9%

Number of parties contesting the election: 2

Number of parties winning seats: 2

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: People's Democratic Party (PDP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 2 August 2013

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Jigme Zangpo (People's Democratic Party, PDP)
Voter turnout
Round no 113 July 2013
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
252'485 (66.13%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
People's Democratic Party (PDP)
Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
People's Democratic Party (PDP) 32
Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) 15
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (29.07.2013, 01.01.2014, 14.06.2014)
Election Commission of Bhutan (26.07.2013)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union