HOME -> PARLINE -> BHUTAN (Tshogdu)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Tshogdu (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Chi Tshog / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Tshogdu / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Gyelyong Tshogde / National Council
Electoral Law 30 June 2007
(Royal Decree), Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan 2008, Public Election Fund Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan 2008
Mode of designation directly elected 47
Constituencies 47 single-member constituencies
Voting system Majority: Single member plurality system ("first past the post")
Elections are held in two rounds. In the "primary round" (first round), Bhutanese vote for the political party of their choice. In the "general election" (second round), the two political parties that obtain the highest number of votes in the primary round field their candidates.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by elections.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - Bhutanese citizenship, including through naturalization
- Age: at least 18 years old on election day
- Residence in the constituency at least one year prior to election
Qualified voters who are on diplomatic assignments, working in Bhutanese Embassies, on special duty abroad, their spouses and dependants, civil servants, students and those serving in the armed forces, officials on election duty and voters specifically permitted by the Election Commission in consultation with the government can vote through postal ballots.

- Persons of unsound mind and stands so declared by a competent court
- Persons disqualified from voting under the Election Act or any other law in force in Bhutan.
Eligibility - Bhutanese citizenship
- Age: minimum of 25 years and maximum of 65 years at the time of registration
- Registration in the constituency concerned
- University degree
- Members of political parties

- Members of the Royal Family
- Serving members of the armed forces
- Serving civil servants
- Clergymen
- Persons registered under Religious Organizations Act
- Serving executives and members of the Electoral Commission
- Persons married to non-Bhutanese nationals
- Conviction for crime, bribery, or electoral offence
- Persons who are mentally unfit or specifically barred from voting under the laws of the country.
Incompatibilities - Head of State
- Members of the other chamber
- Holders of public office
- Civil servants (at the national level)
- Executives and members of the Electoral Commission
- Chief of electoral staff
- Members of the armed forces
- Members of the police forces
- Clergymen
*The incompatibilities cited above are valid during the term of office.
- Holders of temporary entry permits
- Undocumented immigrants
- Insanity/mental illness
Candidacy requirements - Candidature must be submitted by political parties.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union