HOME -> PARLINE -> BRAZIL (Cámara dos Deputados)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Cámara dos Deputados (Chamber of Deputies)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Congresso nacional / National Congress
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Cámara dos Deputados / Chamber of Deputies
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senado Federal / Federal Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 5 October 2014
Purpose of elections A coalition supporting President Dilma Rousseff of the Workers' Party (PT, see note 1) retained a majority in both chambers of Congress. It took 304 seats in the 543-member Chamber of Deputies and controlled 58 seats following the partial renewal of the 81-member Senate. An opposition coalition supporting the presidential bid of Senator Aecio Neves of the Brazilian Social Democratic Party (PSDB, see note 2) took a total of 128 seats in the Chamber and held 20 seats in the Senate. Ms. Rousseff won the run-off presidential elections held on 26 October, narrowly defeating Senator Neves. The latter was backed by Ms. Marina Silva of the Brazilian Socialist Party (PSB), who came third in the first round of the presidential elections.

President Rousseff's PT - in power since 2003 - ran on the government's record, citing its success in reducing unemployment. It promised to expand the social welfare programme, in particular the Bolsa Familia, the family allowance for low-income families that covers about one-fifth of the population. The PSDB also promised to maintain the Bolsa Familia, while promoting business-friendly policies and a smaller role for the State in the economy. It proposed to reduce the minimum age at which minors can be tried as adults for serious crimes from 18 to 16 years old. The PSB opposed this plan, and promised better protection for indigenous communities.

Note 1:
The winning coalition comprised the Workers' Party (PT), the Brazilian Democratic Movement Party (PMDB), the Social Democratic Party (PSD), the Progressive Party (PP), the Party of the Republic (PR), the Brazilian Republican Party (PRB), the Democratic Labour Party (PDT) and the Republican Party of the Social Order (PROS).

Note 2:
The opposition coalition comprised the Brazilian Social Democratic Party (PSDB), the Brazilian Labour Party (PTB), the Democrats (DEM), the Solidality (SD), National Labour Party (PTN), the National Mobilization Party (PMN), the National Ecologic Party (PEN), the Christian Labour Party (PTC) and Labour Party of Brazil (PT do B).
Date of previous elections: 2 October 2010

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: October 2018

Number of seats at stake: 513 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 5,867

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 32

Number of parties winning seats: 28

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 13

Names of parties in government: Workers' Party (PT), Brazilian Democratic Movement Party (PMDB), Democratic Labour Party (PDT), Brazilian Labour Party (PTB), Progressive Party (PP), Party of the Republic (PR), Communist Party of Brazil (PC do B), Social Democratic Party (PSD), Brazilian Republican Party (PRB), Republican Party of the Social Order (PROS), Labour Party of Brazil (PT do B), Progressive Republican Party (PRP) and National Mobilization Party (PMN).

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 1 February 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Eduardo Cosentino da Cunha (Brazilian Democratic Movement Party, PMDB)
Voter turnout
Round no 15 October 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
113'232'072 (80.6%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Workers' Party (PT)
Brazilian Democratic Movement Party (PMDB)
Brazilian Social Democratic Party (PSDB)
Social Democratic Party (PSD)
Progressive Party (PP)
Brazilian Socialist Party (PSB)
Party of the Republic (PR)
Brazilian Labour Party (PTB)
Democrats (DEM)
Brazilian Republican Party (PRB)
Democratic Labour Party (PDT)
Solidality (SD)
Social Christian Party (PSC)
Republican Party of the Social Order (PROS)
Popular Socialist Party (PPS)
Communist Party of Brazil (PC do B)
Green Party (PV)
Socialism and Liberty Party (PSOL)
Humanist Party of Solidarity (PHS)
National Labour Party (PTN)
Progressive Republican Party (PRP)
National Mobilization Party (PMN)
National Ecologic Party (PEN)
Christian Social Democratic Party (PSDC)
Christian Labour Party (PTC)
Social Liberal Party (PSL)
Labour Party of Brazil (PT do B)
Renewed Brazilian Labour Party (PRTB)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Workers' Party (PT) 70
Brazilian Democratic Movement Party (PMDB) 66
Brazilian Social Democratic Party (PSDB) 54
Social Democratic Party (PSD) 37
Progressive Party (PP) 36
Brazilian Socialist Party (PSB) 34
Party of the Republic (PR) 34
Brazilian Labour Party (PTB) 25
Democrats (DEM) 22
Brazilian Republican Party (PRB) 21
Democratic Labour Party (PDT) 19
Solidality (SD) 15
Social Christian Party (PSC) 12
Republican Party of the Social Order (PROS) 11
Popular Socialist Party (PPS) 10
Communist Party of Brazil (PC do B) 10
Green Party (PV) 8
Socialism and Liberty Party (PSOL) 5
Humanist Party of Solidarity (PHS) 5
National Labour Party (PTN) 4
Progressive Republican Party (PRP) 3
National Mobilization Party (PMN) 3
National Ecologic Party (PEN) 2
Christian Social Democratic Party (PSDC) 2
Christian Labour Party (PTC) 2
Social Liberal Party (PSL) 1
Labour Party of Brazil (PT do B) 1
Renewed Brazilian Labour Party (PRTB) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
IPU Group (30.10.2014, 10.12.2014, 01.01.2015, 04.02.2015, 01.01.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union