HOME -> PARLINE -> BULGARIA (Narodno sabranie)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Narodno sabranie (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Narodno sabranie / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 26 March 2017
Purpose of elections Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria Party (GERB), led by former Prime Minister Boyko Borisov, became the largest party, winning 15 more seats than the Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP, led by Ms. Korneliya Ninova). GERB failed to secure an outright majority though in the 240-member National Assembly. During the election campaigning, the major parties focused on economy, job creation and tax reform, promising to increase the minimum wage, pension and allowance for families.

On 4 May, the National Assembly approved Mr. Borisov as the Prime Minister, thereby giving him a third term. His new Cabinet, composed of the GERB and the United Patriots (UP), holds a slim majority of 122 seats.

The 2017 elections - third polls since 2013 - followed the 2016 presidential elections. In the run-off elections, former air force commander Rumen Radev (independent, backed by the BSP) defeated GERB's candidate and parliament Speaker, Ms. Tsetska Tsacheva. Mr. Radev argued the country needs to find a right balance for its relationship with the European Union and with the Russian Federation. Prime Minister Borisov tendered his resignation following the defeat of the GERB's candidate. The new President, sworn in on January 2017, appointed former Speaker Ognyan Gerdzhikov as an interim Prime Minister and called early elections for March.
Date of previous elections: 5 October 2014

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 27 January 2017

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: March 2021

Number of seats at stake: 240 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 4,678 (3,469 men, 1,209 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 25.8%

Number of parties contesting the election: 12 parties and 9 coalitions

Number of parties winning seats: 5

Alternation of power: not applicable*
*The government formed after the 2014 elections resigned prior to the 2017 elections.

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria Party (GERB), the United Patriots (UP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 19 April 2017

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Dimitar Glavchev (GERB)
Voter turnout
Round no 115 March 2017
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
3'682'151 (54.07%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria Party (GERB)
Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP)
United Patriots (UP)
Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria Party (GERB) 95
Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP) 80
United Patriots (UP) 27
Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS) 26
Volya 12
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Sources :
National Assembly (18.04.2017, 19.04.2017)
Central Election Commission of Bulgaria (12.05.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union