HOME -> PARLINE -> BULGARIA (Narodno sabranie)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Narodno sabranie (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Narodno sabranie / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 13 April 2001
Last amendment: 16.10.2009
Mode of designation directly elected 240
Constituencies 31 multi-member constituencies (seats according to population).
Voting system Mixed: Mixed system:
- 31 members are elected using the first-past-the-post (FPTP) system;
- 209 members are elected under the proportional representation (PR) system using the closed party list. These seats are distributed according to the Hare-Niemeyer method.
Only parties and coalitions that obtain at least 4 per cent of the nationwide popular vote are entitled to parliamentary representation.
Vacancies for the PR seats are filled by "next-in-line" candidates. Vacant FPTP seats are filled through by-elections. However, if a member elected under the FPTP resigns to take up a ministerial post, his/her seat will be filled by the "next-in-line" candidate of the same party from the proportional representation system.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: at least 18 years on election day
- Bulgarian citizenship
- disqualifications: imprisonment, judicial interdiction
Eligibility - qualified electors
- age: at least 21 years on election day
- Bulgarian citizenship
Disqualifications: imprisonment, judicial interdiction, persons holding any other citizenship.
Incompatibilities - State posts
Candidacy requirements - Candidacies by political parties or individuals
- Political parties: a list comprising a minimum of 15,000 electors supporting the party registration
- Independent candidates: candidacy supported by a minimum of 10,000 electors of the constituency

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union