HOME -> PARLINE -> CAMEROON (Assemblée nationale - National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assemblée nationale - National Assembly (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Parlement - Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Assemblée nationale - National Assembly / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Sénat - Senate / Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 30 September 2013
Purpose of elections President Paul Biya's Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (CPDM) took 148 seats in the 180-member National Assembly. The main opposition, the Social Democratic Front (SDF), came in a distant second, taking 18 seats. The remaining 14 seats went to five other parties.

President Biya, who has been in power since 1982, ran on the government's record, citing democratic progress in the country. He promised to put in place the constitutional council provided for in the constitution. This council will among other things determine whether laws comply with the constitution, which, in his view, will complete "Democracy-building in Cameroon". The SDF criticized the electoral system, which, in its view, favours the ruling party.

Elections to the National Assembly had been due in 2012. They were delayed following the government's decision to prepare a new electoral roll and introduce a biometric electoral card. The term of the outgoing parliamentarians, which should have expired by 21 August 2012, was extended three times until the elections took place. The elections were combined with those for the municipal councils.
Date of previous elections: 22 July and 30 September 2007

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 22 July 2013

Timing of election: Delayed elections

Expected date of next elections: September 2018

Number of seats at stake: 180 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available

Percentage of women candidates: Not available

Number of parties contesting the election: 28

Number of parties winning seats: 7

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 4

Names of parties in government: Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (CPDM), National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP), National Salvation Front (FSNC), National Alliance for Democracy and Progress (ANDP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 29 October 2013

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Djibril Cavayé Yeguie (CPDM)
Voter turnout
Round no 130 September 2013
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
4'208'796 (76.79%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (CPDM)
Social Democratic Front (SDF)
National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP)
Cameroon Democratic Union (UDC)
Union of the Peoples of Cameroon (UPC)
Movement for the Defense of the Republic (MDR)
Cameroon Renaissance Movement (CRM)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (CPDM) 148
Social Democratic Front (SDF) 18
National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP) 5
Cameroon Democratic Union (UDC) 4
Union of the Peoples of Cameroon (UPC) 3
Movement for the Defense of the Republic (MDR) 1
Cameroon Renaissance Movement (CRM) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Source: National Assembly (22.10.2013)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union