HOME -> PARLINE -> CYPRUS (Vouli Antiprosopon)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Vouli Antiprosopon (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Vouli Antiprosopon / House of Representatives
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 22 May 2016
Purpose of elections As in the previous elections, no party secured an outright majority and only two parties won more than 10 seats. The Democratic Rally (DISY), led by the present President of the Republic Nicos Anastasiades, remained the largest force in the House of Representatives and won 18 of the 56 seats at stake (see note 1). The AKEL (Left) New Forces, led by AKEL leader Andros Kyprianou, came second. The National People's Front (ELAM), led by Mr. Christos Christou, entered parliament for the first time.

The 2016 elections were the first to be held under President Anastasiades, who succeeded Mr. Demetris Christofias (AKEL) in 2013. Following the 2013 bailout received from the European Union, the IMF and the ECB, the country implemented a series of reforms and austerity plans. Both President Anastasiades and Turkish Cypriot leader Mustafa Akinci, elected in April 2015, have been advocating for reunification of the island as a federated State (see note 2). During the election campaigning, the major parties focused on reunification with Northern Cyprus and economic issues.

Note 1:
Elections were held for the 56 members of the House of Representatives representing the Greek-Cypriot community. The remaining 24 members are elected by the Turkish-Cypriot community. Those seats have been vacant since 1985.

Note 2:
A coup d'état in Cyprus on 15 July 1974 by Greek Cypriot and Greek elements favouring union with Greece was followed by military intervention by Turkey, whose troops established Turkish Cypriot control over the northern part of the island. A de facto ceasefire came into effect on 16 August 1974. Negotiations aim to achieve a solution for the unification of Cyprus based on a bi-zonal, bi-communal federation and political equality in accordance with pertinent resolutions of the United Nations.
Date of previous elections: 22 May 2011

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: May 2020

Number of seats at stake: 56 (full renewal)*
*Elections were held for the 56 members of the House of Representatives representing the Greek-Cypriot community.
The remaining 24 members are elected by the Turkish-Cypriot community (seats currently vacant).

Number of candidates: 493 (385 men, 108 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 16.2%

Number of parties contesting the election: 18

Number of parties winning seats: 8

Alternation of power: No

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 2 June 2016

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Demetris Syllouris (Democratic Rally, DISY)
Voter turnout
Round no 122 May 2016
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
362'542 (66.74%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Democratic Rally (DISY)
AKEL - Left - New Forces
Democratic Party (DIKO)
EDEK - Movement of Social Democrats
Citizen's Alliance
Solidality Movement
Green Party - Citizen's Alliance
National People's Front (ELAM)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Democratic Rally (DISY) 18
AKEL - Left - New Forces 16
Democratic Party (DIKO) 9
EDEK - Movement of Social Democrats 3
Citizen's Alliance 3
Solidality Movement 3
Green Party - Citizen's Alliance 2
National People's Front (ELAM) 2
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
House of Representatives (30.05.2016, 31.05.2016)

Note on the distribution of seats according to sex:
Initially, 11 women were elected in the 2016 elections. However, one of them, who is also a member of the European Parliament (EP), decided to keep her EP seat and was replaced by a male candidate of the same party. Consequently, the number of women decreased to 10 before the first session was held on 2 June.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union