HOME -> PARLINE -> ECUADOR (Asamblea Nacional)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Asamblea Nacional (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Asamblea Nacional / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 19 February 2017
Purpose of elections The ruling Alianza Pais coalition (AP) retained the majority but its share of seats fell from 100 to 74 in the 137-member National Assembly. The AP comprises outgoing President Rafael Correa's Movement for a Proud and Sovereign Fatherland (PAIS) and its allies. The Creating Opportunities Movement (CREO), which formed an alliance with the Society United for More Action (SUMA), tripled their combined share of seats to 34. The elections saw a high turnover: only 31 members of the outgoing legislature were returned to parliament. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on policies related to health care, education, job creation, social security, tourism and tax reforms.

No candidate was elected in the first round of the presidential elections, which were held in parallel with the parliamentary polls (see note 1). In the run-off elections on 2 April between former vice president, Mr. Lenín Moreno (PAIS), and former economy minister, Mr. Guillermo Lasso (CREO), Mr. Moreno was elected with 51.16% of the vote. He will succeed Mr. Correa, who has been in power since 2007 (see note 2).

Note 1:
To avoid a runoff election, presidential candidates need to obtain 40 percent of the vote and hold at least a 10 percent advantage over the nearest rival.

Note 2:
In December 2015, the National Assembly approved a constitutional amendment allowing the president and other officials to be re-elected for an indefinite number of terms. However, the amendment only comes into force in 2021. Thus, Mr. Correa could not seek a new term in 2017.
Date of previous elections: 17 February 2013

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 14 May 2017

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: February 2021

Number of seats at stake: 137 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 450

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 70

Number of parties winning seats: 11*
*including two coalitions

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1 coalition

Names of parties in government: Alianza Pais (AP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 14 May 2017
*In accordance with article 123 of the Constitution

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. José Serrano Salgado (Alianza Pais, AP)
Voter turnout
Round no 119 February 2017
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Alianza Pais (AP)
Creating Opportunities (CREO) - Society United for More Action (SUMA)
Social Christian Party (PSC)
Creating Opportunities Movement (CREO)
Local Movement
Democratic Left (ID)
Society United for More Action (SUMA)
Party of the Patriotic Society (PSP)
Pachakutik - Democratic Left (ID)
Fuerza Ecuador (FE)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Alianza Pais (AP) 74
Creating Opportunities (CREO) - Society United for More Action (SUMA) 28
Social Christian Party (PSC) 15
Creating Opportunities Movement (CREO) 4
Pachakutik 4
Local Movement 3
Democratic Left (ID) 3
Society United for More Action (SUMA) 2
Party of the Patriotic Society (PSP) 2
Pachakutik - Democratic Left (ID) 1
Fuerza Ecuador (FE) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (08.03.2017, 09.03.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union