HOME -> PARLINE -> GABON (Sénat)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Sénat (Senate)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlement / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Sénat / Senate
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Assemblée nationale / National Assembly
Electoral Law 15 April 1996
Mode of designation indirectly elected 102
Constituencies - 9 multi-member (4 to 18 seats) constituencies corresponding to the country's provinces
Voting system : Indirect election by members of municipal councils and departmental assemblies on the basis of majority vote (absolute in first round, simple in second).
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by substitutes chosen at the same time as titular members.
Voter requirements - members of municipal councils and departmental assemblies
Eligibility - age: 40 years
- Gabonese citizenship
- ineligibility: certain high officials of the Government, members of the armed forces
Incompatibilities - membership of the Government or the Economic and Social Council (President and Vice President)
- membership of the Constitutional Court
- membership of the National Council of Communications
- national treasurer and other public accountants
- judges
- certain other high-ranking public officials
- salaried employees or chairman of the board of directors of a public or semi-public firm
- employees of a foreign State or international organisation
- commissioned and non-commissioned officers of defence and security forces
- salaried employees
Candidacy requirements - by parties, coalitions thereof or individuals

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union