HOME -> PARLINE -> INDONESIA (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat / House of Representatives
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 9 April 2014
Purpose of elections The opposition Indonesian Democratic Party - Struggle (PDI-P) led by former President Megawati Sukarnoputri came in first, taking 109 of the 560 seats at stake, though it failed to meet the conditions needed to be able to put forward a candidate on its own to the presidential elections due on 9 July (see note). Golkar, formerly led by the long-serving former President Suharto, remained the second largest party with 91 seats, and Gerindra (meaning "Great Indonesia Movement"), which endorsed former general Prabowo Subianto as its presidential candidate, took 73 seats. President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono's Democratic Party (Partai Demokrat, PD) - the largest force in the outgoing legislature - finished fourth with 61 seats, reportedly damaged by several graft scandals. Having served two presidential terms, President Yudhoyono is constitutionally barred from seeking a new term.

Five Islamic-based parties took nearly 30 per cent of vote altogether, up from 24 per cent scored in 2009. Four of them surpassed the 3.5-per-cent threshold to win parliamentary representation: the National Awakening Party (PKB), the National Mandate Party (PAN), the United Development Party (PPP) and the People's Conscience Party (Hanura).

PDI-P's expected presidential candidate, Jakarta governor Mr. Joko Widodo, said he would reduce the country's deficit by lowering fuel subsidies over the next few years. Golkar's leader Aburizal Bakrie, a mining and business tycoon, supported the subsidies and their eventual increase. Mr. Prabowo (Gerindra) promised to ensure that the subsidies be only used by the poor and lower middle class. After the parliamentary elections, the PKB and the National Democrat (NasDem), a new party which finished in eighth position with 35 seats, announced their support for Mr. Widodo.

The 2014 elections were the first to be held since the adoption of Law 8/2012, which foresees that at least 1 in every 3 candidates included on a political party list should be a woman. Political parties that do not meet the requirement are disqualified from submitting a list in the electoral district where the quota is not met.

A party must win 25 per cent of the national vote or 20 per cent of the 560 seats in parliament to be able to submit a candidate for the presidency.
Date of previous elections: 9 April 2009

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: April 2019

Number of seats at stake: 560 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 6,607 (4,142 men, 2,465 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 37.3%

Number of parties contesting the election: 12

Number of parties winning seats: 10

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 1 October 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Setya Novanto (Golkar)
Voter turnout
Round no 19 April 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
139'573'927 (75.11%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Indonesian Democratic Party (PDI)
Gerindra ("Great Indonesia Movement")
Democratic Party (PD)
National Mandate Party (PAN)
National Awakening Party (PKB)
Prosperous Justice Party (PKS)
United Development Party (PPP)
NasDem party
Hanura (People's Conscience Party)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Indonesian Democratic Party (PDI) 109
Golkar 91
Gerindra ("Great Indonesia Movement") 73
Democratic Party (PD) 61
National Mandate Party (PAN) 49
National Awakening Party (PKB) 47
Prosperous Justice Party (PKS) 40
United Development Party (PPP) 39
NasDem party 35
Hanura (People's Conscience Party) 16
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
House of Representatives (28.05.2014, 01.01.2015, 01.01.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union