HOME -> PARLINE -> IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF) (Majles Shoraye Eslami)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Majles Shoraye Eslami (Islamic Parliament of Iran)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Majles Shoraye Eslami / Islamic Parliament of Iran
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) (from/to)26 February 2016
29 April 2016
Purpose of elections The Universal Coalition of Reformists ("List of Hope"), mainly comprising moderate conservatives and reformists (see note 1), fared well in elections to parliament and the Assembly of Experts (see note 2). Led by former Vice President Mohammad Reza Aref, it took over 120 seats in the two rounds of parliamentary elections. The Grand Coalition of Principle-ists (comprising hardline conservatives, or "principle-ists"), led by former Speaker Gholam Ali Haddad-Adel, won over 80 seats, though Mr. Haddad-Adel himself lost his seat. A record 17 women were elected.

During the election campaign, many candidates promised to support greater economic development. Around half of the potential candidates were disqualified by the Guardian Council prior to the election.

The 2016 elections were first to be held under President Hassan Rouhani, elected in 2013. International sanctions were removed in January 2016 following an agreement on Iran's nuclear programme. Former President Mohammad Khatami praised the success of the List of Hope, saying the people have expressed their support for the policies of the Rohani administration.

Note 1:
While political parties exist, they are not active. The main political forces are generally considered to be 'conservatives' (often referred to as principle-ists or fundamentalists) and 'reformists'. The reformists favour expanded social freedoms and engagement with the West. Moderate conservatives, who backed the 2015 nuclear agreement, joined the List of Hope in the 2016 elections.

Note 2:
The 88-member Assembly of Experts has the authority to appoint and dismiss the Supreme Leader, currently Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, appointed for life in June 1989. Moderate conservatives won 59% of the seats in 2016, including President Rouhani and former President Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani.
Date of previous elections: 2 March & 4 May 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 26 May 2016

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: February – April 2020

Number of seats at stake: 290 (full renewal)*
*Including five seats reserved for minorities who are elected separately.

Number of candidates: 6,229 (5,643 men, 586 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 9.4%

Number of parties contesting the election: N/A (There is no party system)

Number of parties winning seats: N/A

Alternation of power: N/A (presidential system)

Number of parties in government: N/A

Names of parties in government: N/A

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 28 May 2016

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Ali Ardeshir Larijani
Voter turnout
Distribution of votes
Distribution of seats
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Islamic Parliament of Iran (05.03.2016, 02.05.2016)
BBC Monitoring

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union