HOME -> PARLINE -> MALAYSIA (Dewan Negara)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Dewan Negara (Senate)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlimen / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Dewan Negara / Senate
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Dewan Rakyat / House of Representatives
Electoral Law 28 August 1958
Last amendment: 29/10/2003
Mode of designation indirectly elected 26
appointed 44
Constituencies 13 multi-members constituencies, corresponding to the country's States.
Voting system : Indirect voting. Each of the 13 State Legislative Assemblies elects 2 Senators.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by-elections or appointment within 60 days.

Voter requirements - membership of State Legislative Assembly
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 30 years
- Malaysian citizenship
- residence in the country
- ineligibility: allegiance to a foreign State, imprisonment for at least one year or fine of at least M$ 2,000
Incompatibilities - Holders of an "office of profit" (i.e., a full-time office in any of the public services), such as:
- judge of the Federal Court or a High Court
- Auditor-General
- member of the Election Commission
Candidacy requirements - For members who are elected by the State Legislative Assembly, candidates are nominated after being proposed and seconded by members of the Assembly".
- For members who are appointed, candidates are usually proposed by the Prime Minister to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (The King). The members to be appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong should be persons who, in his opinion, have rendered distinguished public service; have achieved distinction in the professions, commerce, industry, agriculture, cultural activities or social service; are representative of racial minorities; or are capable of representing the interests of aboriginal peoples.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union