HOME -> PARLINE -> MAURITIUS (National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name National Assembly - Assemblée nationale
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 11 May 1968
Last amendment: 1991
Mode of designation directly elected 62
appointed 7
Constituencies - 20 multi-member (3 seats) constituencies
- 1 multi-member (2 seats) constituency ( island of Rodrigues)
Voting system Majority: Block vote. Each elector casts as many votes as the number of candidates elected in each constituency. The three candidates (2 for Rodrigues) receiving the largest number of votes being declared elected.
The unsuccessful candidates with the highest number of votes (best losers) are designated by an electoral commission as the "additional" members of the Assembly in order to balance the representation of ethnic communities.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by elections (elective seats) or by the highest placed unsuccessful candidate (designated seats).
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- British Commonwealth citizenship
- residence in Mauritius for not less than two years or domiciled in the country on a prescribed date
- disqualifications: insanity, electoral offences, imprisonment exceeding 12 months
Eligibility - age: 18 years
- British Commonwealth citizenship
- residence in Mauritius for at least two years before the date of nomination (and for six months immediately before that date)
- ability to speak and read English with a degree of proficiency sufficient to allow for taking an active part in Assembly proceedings
- ineligibilities: allegiance to a State outside the Commonwealth, undischarged bankruptcy, imprisonment exceeding 12 months, electoral offences, undisclosed government contractors
Incompatibilities - public or local government officers
- Speaker or Deputy Speaker must not be a Minister
Candidacy requirements - nomination by at least six electors of the constituency
- deposit of approximately US$25, reimbursed if the candidate polls at least 10% of the votes cast

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union