HOME -> PARLINE -> MAURITIUS (National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name National Assembly - Assemblée nationale
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 10 December 2014
Purpose of elections The opposition Lepep Alliance (see note), led by 84-year-old former President Anerood Jugnauth, won 47 of the 62 directly-elected seats in the 69-member Assembly. The coalition formed by the outgoing Prime Minister Navinchandra Ramgoolam's Labour Party (PTR) and the Mauritian Militant Movement (MMM) of Paul Berenger took 13 seats. Mr. Ramgoolam himself lost the seat that he had held for 23 years. On 15 December, President Kailash Purryag appointed Mr. Jugnauth as Prime Minister, and the government was sworn in on 17 December. Mr. Jugnauth and Mr. Ramgoolam have alternated as Prime Minister since 1982, except for a brief interlude when Mr. Berenger was Prime Minister between 2003 and 2005.

On 22 December, the National Assembly elected Ms. Santi Bai Hanoomanjee (Lepep Alliance) as its new Speaker, who thereby became the first woman Speaker of the country.

During the election campaign, the Lepep Alliance promised to boost the economy to achieve 6 per cent annual growth and to expand manufacturing. The PTR-MMM coalition promised to create between 60,000 to 75,000 jobs by the end of the next term and to double the economic growth rate to 5.5 per cent. It also promised to amend the Constitution so the President - currently a ceremonial post indirectly elected by Parliament - would be directly elected; a proposal opposed by the Lepep Alliance. Under the PTR-MMM's proposal, Mr. Ramgoolam would have become a President with expanded powers with MMM leader Bérenger as Prime Minister.

The Lepep alliance included the Militant Socialist Movement (MSM) led by Mr. Pravind Jugnauth, the Mauritian Social Democrat Party (PMSD) of Mr. Xavier Luc Duval and the Muvman Liberater (ML) of Mr. Ivan Collendavelloo.
Date of previous elections: 5 May 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 6 October 2014

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: December 2019

Number of seats at stake: 62 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 739 (611 men, 128 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 17.3%

Number of parties contesting the election: 45 (41 in Mauritius and four in the island of Rodrigues)

Number of parties winning seats: 3 (2 coalitions and one party)

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 3

Names of parties in government: Militant Socialist Movement (MSM), Mauritian Social Democrat Party (PMSD) and Muvman Liberater (ML)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 22 December 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Santi Bai Hanoomanjee (Lepep Alliance)
Voter turnout
Round no 110 December 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
694'360 (74.11%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Lepep Alliance
Labour Party (PTr) - Mauritian Militant Movement (MMM)
Organization of the People of Rodrigues (OPR)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Directly elected Nominated
Lepep Alliance 51 47 4
Labour Party (PTr) - Mauritian Militant Movement (MMM) 16 13 3
Organization of the People of Rodrigues (OPR) 2 2 0
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Eight women were directly elected; none were appointed.

National Assembly (14.01.2014)
Office of the Electoral Commissioner (11.02.2015)

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union