HOME -> PARLINE -> MOROCCO (Majliss-annouwab)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Majliss-annouwab (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Barlaman / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Majliss-annouwab / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlis al-Mustacharin / House of Councillors
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 7 October 2016
Purpose of elections As in the previous elections, no party won an outright majority in the 395-member House of Representatives. The Justice and Development Party (PJD), led by Prime Minister Abdelilah Benkirane, remained the largest party, winning 125 seats, up from 107. Its coalition partners in the outgoing legislature (see note) took a total of 128 seats. The PJD's main rival, the Authenticity and Modernity Party (PAM, liberal, founded by Mr. Fouad Ali El Himma, a former advisor to the King) more than doubled its seats to 102. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on economic and social reforms, the pension system and Islamism .

The PJD-led coalition government formed in January 2012 comprised the Istiqlal Party (PI), the Popular Movement (MP) and the Progress and Socialism Party (PPS). The National Rally of Independents (RNI) joined in October 2013, replacing the PI.
Date of previous elections: 25 November 2011

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: November 2021

Number of seats at stake: 395 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 6,992

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 32

Number of parties winning seats: 12

Alternation of power: No*

Number of parties in government: 6

Names of parties in government: Justice and Development Party (PJD), National Rally of Independents (RNI), Popular Movement (MP), Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP), Constitutional Union (UC), Progress and Socialism Party (PPS)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 14 October 2016

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Habib El Malki (Socialist Union of Popular Forces, USFP)
Voter turnout
Round no 17 October 2016
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Justice and Development Party (PJD)
Authenticity and Modernity Party (PAM)
Istiqlal Party (PI)
National Rally of Independents (RNI)
Popular Movement (MP)
Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP)
Constitutional Union (UC)
Progress and Socialism Party (PPS)
Democratic and social Movement (MDS)
Federation of the Democratic Left (FGD)
Unity and Development Party (PUD)
Moroccan Green Left Party (PGVM)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Constituency seats List seats
Justice and Development Party (PJD) 125 98 27
Authenticity and Modernity Party (PAM) 102 81 21
Istiqlal Party (PI) 46 35 11
National Rally of Independents (RNI) 37 28 9
Popular Movement (MP) 27 20 7
Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP) 20 14 6
Constitutional Union (UC) 19 15 4
Progress and Socialism Party (PPS) 12 7 5
Democratic and social Movement (MDS) 3 3 0
Federation of the Democratic Left (FGD) 2 2 0
Unity and Development Party (PUD) 1 1 0
Moroccan Green Left Party (PGVM) 1 1 0
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
House of Representatives (26.10.2016, 30.05.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union