HOME -> PARLINE -> NETHERLANDS (Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal (House of Representatives )

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Staten-Generaal / States General
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Eerste Kamer der Staten-Generaal / Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 15 March 2017
Purpose of elections The 2017 elections returned an even more fragmented House of Representatives than in the previous legislature: 13 parties, up from 11 previously, entered the House of Representatives, the highest number of parties since 1972 (14 parties). Prime Minister Mark Rutte's People's Party for Freedom and Democracy (VVD) remained the largest party, but reduced its share from 41 seats to 33. VVD's coalition partner, the Labour Party (PvdA), lost nearly 30 seats, taking nine. The Party for Freedom (PVV), led by Mr. Geert Wilders, became the second largest party in the House, winning five more seats than in the previous elections. Green Left led by Mr. Jesse Klaver nearly quadrupled its share, taking 14 seats.

Immigration and integration dominated the 2017 election campaigning. Mr. Wilders pledged to withdraw the Netherlands from the EU, and close Dutch borders. Prime Minister Rutte urged voters to stop "the wrong sort of populism". 81.93% of 12.9 million voters went to the polls. This was the highest turnout since the 1986 elections (85.82%).

On 15 May, chief negotiator of the coalition talks, Ms. Edith Schippers, announced the negotiations involving four parties - the VVD, the Christian Democratic Appeal (CDA, led by Mr. Sybrand Buma), the Democrats 66 (D66, led by Mr. Alexander Pechtold) and the Green Left (led by Mr. Jesse Klaver) - had reached stalemate over the issue of migration.
Date of previous elections: 12 September 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 23 March 2017

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry*
*The duration of the term of the House is 4 years. However, in accordance with sections C1, C2 and C3 of the Electoral Act (Kieswet), members of the House of Representatives shall always retire in the period between 23 and 29 March. The outgoing legislature, elected September 2012, was thus dissolved on 23 March 2017 instead of September 2016.

Expected date of next elections: March 2021

Number of seats at stake: 150 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,114 (721 men, 393 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 35.3%

Number of parties contesting the election: 28

Number of parties winning seats: 13

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 4

Names of parties in government: People's Party for Freedom and Democracy (VVD), Christian Democratic Appeal (CDA), Democrats 66 (D66), Christian Union

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 29 March 2017

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Khadija Arib (Labour Party, PvdA)
Voter turnout
Round no 115 March 2017
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
10'563'456 (81.93%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
People's Party for Freedom and Democracy (VVD)
Party for Freedom (PVV)
Christian Democratic Appeal (CDA)
Democrats 66 (D66)
Green Left
Socialist Party (SP)
Labour Party (PvdA)
Christian Union
Party for the Animals (PvdD)
Party for the over 50 (50Plus)
Reformed Political Party (SGP)
Forum for Democracy (FvD)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
People's Party for Freedom and Democracy (VVD) 33
Party for Freedom (PVV) 20
Christian Democratic Appeal (CDA) 19
Democrats 66 (D66) 19
Green Left 14
Socialist Party (SP) 14
Labour Party (PvdA) 9
Christian Union 5
Party for the Animals (PvdD) 5
Party for the over 50 (50Plus) 4
Reformed Political Party (SGP) 3
Forum for Democracy (FvD) 2
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union