HOME -> PARLINE -> SENEGAL (Assemblée nationale)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assemblée nationale (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Assemblée nationale / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 30 July 2017
Purpose of elections President Macky Sall’s Benno Bokk Yaakaar coalition won a two-thirds majority in the 165-member National Assembly (see note). Former President Abdoulaye Wade's Winning Coalition - "Wattu Senegaal" came a distant second with 19 seats. The "Mankoo Taxawu Senegaal" Coalition, led by the Mayor of Dakar, Mr. Khalifa Sall , took seven seats. 11 other parties took fewer than three seats each.

On 6 September, Prime Minister Mahammed Boun Abdallah Dionne was re-appointed to the post. On 11 September, shortly before the convening of the newly-elected National Assembly, Mr. Wade, 91, announced that he would not take up his seat in parliament.

During the election campaign, the Benno Bokk Yaakaar coalition ran on the government record, citing the construction of a new airport and other infrastructure projects . The 2017 elections saw sporadic incidents such as attacks on campaign convoys. A clash between rival supporters during Senegal's football League Cup and a stampede that followed killed eight people. Subsequently sporting and cultural events were banned for the duration of the campaign. On the polling day, delays in issuing biometric identity cards prevented several voters from casting their ballot.

In accordance with constitutional amendments adopted in March 2016, the statutory number of members of the National Assembly increased from 150 to 165, to include 15 seats for the Senegalese diaspora.
Date of previous elections: 1 July 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: July 2022

Number of seats at stake: 165 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available.

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 47 parties/coalitions

Number of parties winning seats: 14

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Benno Bokk Yaakaar

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 14 September 2017

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Moustapha Niasse (Benno Bokk Yaakaar)
Voter turnout
Round no 130 July 2017
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
3'337'494 (53.66%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Benno Bokk Yaakaar
Winning Coalition - "Wattu Senegaal"
"Mankoo Taxawu Senegaal" Coalition
Unity and Rally Party (PUR)
"Kaddu Askanwi" - Patriotic Convergence Coalition
Party for Truth and Development (PVD)
"Mankoo Yeesal Senegal " Coalition
Bunt-Bi - Union of Citizens
Patriotic Convergence for Justice and Equity - Nay Leéer (CPJE - Nay Leéer)
"And - Saxal Liggéey" Coalition
Dare the Future
Alternative Pole - 3rd Way "Senegaal Dey Dem" Coalition
"Ndawi Askanwi" - People’s Alternative Coalition
Initiative for a Policy of Development (IPD)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Benno Bokk Yaakaar 125
Winning Coalition - "Wattu Senegaal" 19
"Mankoo Taxawu Senegaal" Coalition 7
Unity and Rally Party (PUR) 3
"Kaddu Askanwi" - Patriotic Convergence Coalition 2
Party for Truth and Development (PVD) 1
"Mankoo Yeesal Senegal " Coalition 1
Bunt-Bi - Union of Citizens 1
Patriotic Convergence for Justice and Equity - Nay Leéer (CPJE - Nay Leéer) 1
"And - Saxal Liggéey" Coalition 1
Dare the Future 1
Alternative Pole - 3rd Way "Senegaal Dey Dem" Coalition 1
"Ndawi Askanwi" - People’s Alternative Coalition 1
Initiative for a Policy of Development (IPD) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (19.09.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union