HOME -> PARLINE -> SURINAME (Nationale Assemblee)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Nationale Assemblee (National Assembly)

This page contains the full text of the PARLINE database entry on the selected parliamentary chamber, with the exception of Specialized bodies modules which, because of their excessive length, can be only viewed and printed separately.


Parliament name (generic / translated) Nationale Assemblee / National Assembly
More photos  >>>
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Affiliation to the IPU Yes
Affiliation date(s) 1979 - 1980
1988 -
President Jennifer Geerlings-Simons (F) 
Notes Elected on 30 June 2010, re-elected on 30 June 2015.
Secretary General Ruth L. de Windt  (F) 
Notes Sworn in on 3 June 2014.
Members (statutory / current number) 51 / 51

More statistics  >>>
Women (current number) 13 (25.49%)
Mode of designation directly elected 51
Term 5 years
Last renewal dates 24 May 2015
(View details)
Address National Assembly
Onafhankelijkheidsplein 10
(Export mailing lists)
Phone (597) 47 50 52
47 76 27
47 77 37
Fax (597) 41 03 64
47 75 54
E-mail dnasur@sr.net


Parliament name (generic / translated) Nationale Assemblee / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral law 23 October 1987
Mode of designation directly elected 51
Constituencies 10 multi-member constituencies (between 2 and 17 seats each).
Voting system Proportional: Party list system.
Candidates are elected by proportional representation on a largest average formula basis with preferential votes.
In each constituency, the first seat is awarded to the political party having obtained the highest number of votes. The remaining seats are awarded to the party with the highest average number of votes. In each party list, the candidate(s) having obtained the most preferential votes are declared elected.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by substitutes, according to the order of names on each party list.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Suriname citizenship
- residence in the country
- disqualifications: deprivation of voting right by court decision, detention, insanity
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 21 years
- Suriname citizenship
- residence in the constituency where running for at least 2 years
- member of a political party
Incompatibilities (not applicable)
Candidacy requirements - nomination by political party
- support by specified number of electors


Parliament name (generic / translated) Nationale Assemblee / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 24 May 2015
Timing and scope of renewal President Desi Bouterse's National Democratic Party (NDP: see note 1) became the first single party to win a majority in the National Assembly. The NDP took 26 seats in the 51-member parliament, 8 more than the opposition coalition, Victory 7 (V7: see note 2). Five seats were won by the coalition A-Combination (see note 3), which supported Mr. Bouterse in the 2010 presidential elections. The President is elected indirectly by members of the National Assembly; a two-thirds majority (34 members) is required for such an election. On 14 July, the National Assembly re-elected Mr. Bouterse as the country's President.

These elections were the first to be held after amendments were made in April 2012 to the country's amnesty act. They effectively dropped charges against the President for alleged human rights abuses committed under his military rule in the 1980s, including an event in 1982 known as "the December murders" when 15 opposition figures were killed. V7's presidential candidate Mr. Santokhi is a former police commissioner who led the investigation into the murders. He pledged to repeal the 2012 amendments to the amnesty act if elected. During the election campaign, the NDP focused attention on their achievements while in government, citing improvements in infrastructure. V7 promised to restore the rule of law, strengthen democracy and tackle corruption.

Note 1:
During the previous elections in 2010, the NDP was part of the Mega Combination coalition which comprised the NDP, New Suriname (NU), the Progressive Workers' and Farmers' Union (PALU) and the Indonesian Peasants' Party (KTPI). In 2015, the NDP ran alone.

Note 2:
V7 initially comprised seven parties. Four of those had originally been part of the New Front for Democracy and Development (NF) during the 2010 elections: the Progressive Reform Party (VHP), the National Party of Suriname (NPS), the Surinamese Labour Party (SPA) and as of 2010, Democratic Alternative '91 (DA91). The three other parties who then joined to form V7 were: the Pertjajah Luhur (PL), the Brotherhood and Unity in Politics (BEP) and the Indonesian Peasants' Party, which had by then been renamed the Party for National Unity and Solidarity (but was still known as KTPI). However, before the 2015 elections, the KTPI left V7 to join the A-Combination coalition. In 2015, V7 endorsed Mr. Chandrikapersad Santokhi (VHP) as its presidential candidate.

Note 3:
In 2015, the A-Combination coalition comprised the General Liberation and Development Party (ABOP), the KTPI and the Party for Democracy and Development (PDO). It endorsed former rebel leader Ronnie Brunswijk (ABOP) as its presidential candidate.
Date of previous elections: 25 May 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 30 June 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: May 2020

Number of seats at stake: 51 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 387 (259 men, 128 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 33.1%

Number of parties contesting the election: 25

Number of parties winning seats: 5

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 30 June 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Jennifer Geerlings-Simons (National Democratic Party, NDP)
Voter turnout
Round no 124 May 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political group Candidates Votes % of votes
National Democratic Party (NDP)
A Combination
Progressive Workers' and Farmers' Union (PALU)
Party for Democracy and Development through Unity (DOE)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total of seats
National Democratic Party (NDP) 26
V7 18
A Combination 5
Progressive Workers' and Farmers' Union (PALU) 1
Party for Democracy and Development through Unity (DOE) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex


Percent of women


Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (01.07.2015)

This page was last updated on 20 July 2015
Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union