HOME -> PARLINE -> SURINAME (Nationale Assemblee)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Nationale Assemblee (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Nationale Assemblee / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 23 October 1987
Mode of designation directly elected 51
Constituencies 10 multi-member constituencies (between 2 and 17 seats each).
Voting system Proportional: Party list system.
Candidates are elected by proportional representation on a largest average formula basis with preferential votes.
In each constituency, the first seat is awarded to the political party having obtained the highest number of votes. The remaining seats are awarded to the party with the highest average number of votes. In each party list, the candidate(s) having obtained the most preferential votes are declared elected.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by substitutes, according to the order of names on each party list.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Suriname citizenship
- residence in the country
- disqualifications: deprivation of voting right by court decision, detention, insanity
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 21 years
- Suriname citizenship
- residence in the constituency where running for at least 2 years
- member of a political party
Incompatibilities (not applicable)
Candidacy requirements - nomination by political party
- support by specified number of electors

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union