HOME -> PARLINE -> TAJIKISTAN (Majlisi namoyandogon)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Majlisi namoyandogon (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Majlisi Oli / Supreme Council
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Majlisi namoyandogon / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlisi milli / National Assembly
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 1 March 2015
Purpose of elections President Emomali Rahmon's People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) took 51 seats, retaining its majority in the 63-member House of Representatives. Three pro-government parties - the Agrarian Party of Tajikistan (APT), the Party of Economic Reforms of Tajikistan (PER) and Socialist Party of Tajikistan (SPT) – took additional 10 seats. The Communist Party of Tajikistan (CPT) became the sole opposition force with two seats. CPT leader Shodi Shabdolov rejected the election results, which he termed an "appointment". The Islamic Renaissance Party of Tajikistan (IRPT), led by Mr. Muhiddin Kabiri, failed to win parliamentary representations for the first time since 1999.

The 2015 elections were held in the context of an economic slump in Russia and a sharp depreciation of Russian ruble, which led many Tajiks working in Russian to return home. During the election campaign, President Rakhmon, who has been in power since 1992, promised 200,000 extra jobs for Tajiks returning from Russia.
Date of previous elections: 28 February & 14 March 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: March 2020

Number of seats at stake: 63 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 285 (255 men, 30 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 10.5%

Number of parties contesting the election: 8

Number of parties winning seats: 5

Alternation of power: No (presidential system)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 17 March 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Shukurjon Zuhurov (People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan, PDPT)
Voter turnout
Round no 11 March 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
3'791'827 (87.7%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT)
Agrarian Party of Tajikistan (APT)
Party of Economic Reforms of Tajikistan (PER)
Socialist Party of Tajikistan (SPT)
Communist Party of Tajikistan (CPT)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Majority Proportional
People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) 51 35 16
Agrarian Party of Tajikistan (APT) 5 2 3
Party of Economic Reforms of Tajikistan (PER) 3 1 2
Socialist Party of Tajikistan (SPT) 2 1 1
Communist Party of Tajikistan (CPT) 2 2 0
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
IPU Group (20.04.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union