HOME -> PARLINE -> TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO (House of Representatives)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
House of Representatives

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 7 September 2015
Purpose of elections The People's National Movement (PNM), led by Mr. Keith Rowley, regained power after five years in opposition, taking 23 of 41 seats at stake. The PNM led the country to independence in 1962 and held power for most of the next half century. Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar's People's Partnership (PP, see note) took the remaining 18 seats. On 9 September, Mr. Rowley was sworn in as Prime Minister.

During the election campaign, the major parties focused on social policies, measures to tackle corruption and violent crime, as well as ways to diversify the country’s oil-based economy.

The People's Partnership is a coalition comprising the Prime Minister's United National Congress-Alliance (UNC), the Congress of the People (COP), Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) and the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC). In 2015, the UNC took 17 seats and the COP, one seat.
Date of previous elections: 24 May 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 17 June 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry*
*According to the Constitution, Parliament is dissolved five years after the date of the first sitting (i.e., by 17 June 2015), and a general election takes place within three months of the dissolution.

Expected date of next elections: October – December 2020*
*Within three months after the dissolution of the House of Representatives which will serve a five-year term from the date of the first sitting.

Number of seats at stake: 41 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 132

Number of parties contesting the election: 17

Number of parties winning seats: 2
Note: one party and one coalition.

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: People's National Movement (PNM)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 23 September 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Bridgid Annisette-George (former Attorney General)
Voter turnout
Round no 17 September 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
734'985 (66.86%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
People's National Movement (PNM)
People's Partnership
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
People's National Movement (PNM) 23
People's Partnership 18
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
The 'Distribution of seats' above refers to the 41 directly elected members. The 'Distribution of seats according to sex' refers to all 42 members of the House of Representatives (41 directly elected members and the Speaker). Ms. Bridgid Annisette-George, who was not one of the directly elected members, became a member of the House by virtue of her election as Speaker.

Parliament (17.09.2015, 25.09.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union