HOME -> PARLINE -> UKRAINE (Verkhovna Rada)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Verkhovna Rada (Parliament)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Verkhovna Rada / Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 26 October 2014
Purpose of elections Pro-European parties won the elections, taking 288 seats in the 450 member parliament (see note). The Petro Poroshenko bloc of President Petro Poroshenko came in first with 132 seats. The People's Front of Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk followed with 82 seats. Lviv mayor Andriy Sadovyi's Self Reliance party (Samopomich), the Radical Party of Mr. Oleh Lyashko and the Fatherland party of former Prime Minister Yulia Tymoshenko took 33, 22 and 19 seats respectively. Mr. Yuriy Boyko's Opposition Bloc, which comprises members of former President Viktor Yanukovych's Party of Regions, took 29 seats, becoming the sole party in parliament with a close tie to the Russian Federation. The Communist Party failed to win parliamentary representation for the first time since Ukraine's independence in 1991.

The elections followed the Revolution of Dignity, which toppled President Viktor Yanukovych in February 2014. Subsequent presidential elections in May elected Mr. Poroshenko. The latter promised closer ties with European Union (EU), and signed an association agreement with the European Union in late June. However in July, the coalition government led by Prime Minister Yatsenyuk collapsed after two parties withdrew, calling for early parliamentary elections.

The 2014 parliamentary elections were held against the backdrop of crisis related to the situation in Crimea (which had been annexed by the Russian Federation) and in Donbas region (where separatist forces had set up two self-proclaimed pro-Russian states). During the election campaign, the President urged citizens to vote for a "united, indivisible and European Ukraine". The Petro Poroshenko bloc promised to continue its "Strategy 2020" to achieve membership of the EU by 2020 through economic recovery, job creation, decent wages and pensions and successful private enterprise. The Samopomich promised to bring about a new era of responsible government and an end to corruption and nepotism.

President Poroshenko called for a political settlement in the Donbas region while also promising to strengthen the army. Prime Minister Yatsenyuk's People's Front promised to work for a "strong, independent Ukraine" to defend itself against the "foreign enemy" and to carry out the comprehensive reforms needed to achieve European social standards. The Radical Party pledged to put an end to separatism. It also promised to achieve a "society of equal opportunities and universal well-being" through economic recovery, especially in the agriculture sector. The leader of Fatherland party, Ms. Tymoshenko - who had been released from prison after the Revolution of Dignity - insisted that Ukraine should join NATO, and promised to boost the defence industry so as to prevent Russia from "dismembering Ukraine". The Opposition Bloc pledged to "preserve Ukraine, protect its citizens, and restore peace on its land".

Due to the situation on the ground, elections could not be held in 15 constituencies in Donetsk and Luhansk in the Donbas region, and 12 single-seat constituencies in Crimea and Sevastopol.
Date of previous elections: 28 October 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 25 August 2014

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: October 2019

Number of seats at stake: 423 (full renewal)*
*Elections were not held in 15 constituencies of Donetsk and Luhansk and 12 single-seat constituencies in Crimea and Sevastopol.

Number of candidates: 6,436*
*3,114 for the proportional representation system and 3,322 candidates for the majority system.

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 29

Number of parties winning seats: 11

Alternation of power: N/A*
*The composition of the government changed between elections.

Number of parties in government: 5

Names of parties in government: Petro Poroshenko bloc, People's Front, Samopomich (Self Reliance), Radical Party, All-Ukrainian Union Batkivshchyna (Fatherland party)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 27 November 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Volodymyr Groisman (Petro Poroshenko bloc)
Voter turnout
Round no 126 October 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
18'174'440 (52.42%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Petro Poroshenko bloc
People's Front
Opposition Bloc
Samopomich (Self Reliance)
Radical Party
Group "People's Will"
Group "Economic Development"
All-Ukrainian Union “Batkivshchyna” (Fatherland party)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Petro Poroshenko bloc 147
People's Front 83
Opposition Bloc 40
Independents 38
Samopomich (Self Reliance) 32
Radical Party 22
Group "People's Will" 20
Group "Economic Development" 19
All-Ukrainian Union “Batkivshchyna” (Fatherland party) 19
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Parliament (01.12.2014, 03.12.2014, 01.01.2015, 11.08.2015, 03.06.2016, 01.01.2017)

Note on the distribution of seats according to political parties:
The numbers of seats won by each party mentioned in the text above is based on the election results.
After the elections, many independent candidates-elect joined other parties.
The distribution of seats above refers to the number of seats each parliamentary faction/group held at the first sitting of the legislature, held on 27 November 2014.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union