HOME -> PARLINE -> URUGUAY (Cámara de Senadores)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Cámara de Senadores (Senate)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Asamblea General / General Assembly
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Cámara de Senadores / Senate
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Cámara de Representantes / House of Representatives
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 26 October 2014
Purpose of elections The ruling coalition, the Broad Front (FA) of outgoing president Jose Mujica, retained its leadership of both chambers of Congress by taking 50 seats in the 99-member House of Representatives and 15 of the 30 directly elected seats in the Senate. The National Party (PN) took 32 and 10 seats respectively. The Colorado Party (PC) came in third, taking 10 and four seats.

President Mujica, who was constitutionally barred from running for a second consecutive term as President, was elected to the Senate. The FA's presidential candidate, former President Tabare Vazquez, won the run-off presidential elections on 30 November, defeating the PN's candidate, Mr. Luis Lacalle Pou. The PC's candidate, Mr. Pedro Bordaberry, finished third in the first round, and supported Mr. Pou in the second round.

Both the FA and the PN pledged to boost economy. The FA promised to continue the policies of the outgoing President, which included legalization of gay marriage and abortion. It planned to create the world's first State-run marijuana marketplace, in which the government would regulate the production and sale of marijuana nationwide. The PN - whose 41-year old presidential candidate ran against the 74-year old former President Tabare - called for generation renewal. It promised to halt the plan to set up a marijuana marketplace.
Date of previous elections: 25 October 2009

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 15 February 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: 27 October 2019

Number of seats at stake: 30 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available

Percentage of women candidates: Not available

Number of parties contesting the election: 7

Number of parties winning seats: 4

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Broad Front (FA)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 15 February 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Raul Sendic (Vice-President of the Republic)
Voter turnout
Round no 126 October 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
2'372'117 (90.51%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Broad Front (FA)
National Party (PN)
Colorado Party
Independent Party (PI)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Broad Front (FA) 15
National Party (PN) 10
Colorado Party 4
Independent Party (PI) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on the number of women:
- Nine women were elected to the Senate in the October 2014 elections.
- Before the first sitting of the Senate in February 2015, one woman was replaced by her male substitute, leaving eight women.
- In March 2015, the number of women increased again to nine after one male titular member was replaced by his female substitute member.

IPU Group (19.11.2014, 21.11.2014, 01.01.2015, 29.05.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union