HOME -> PARLINE -> TIMOR-LESTE (National Parliament )
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Parliament

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name National Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 28 December 2006
Last modified 22 June 2011 (Law No. 7/2011)
Mode of designation directly elected 65
Constituencies - one nation-wide constituency
Voting system Proportional: Proportional representation system (party list systems)
Each voter selects one list from among the plurinominal lists presented by political parties or party coalitions. Each list must contain the names of 65 candidates and no fewer than 25 alternate candidates. One in every three candidates on the party lists must be a woman.
Seats are allocated according to the highest average system, using the d'Hondt method. Parties and coalitions obtaining less than 3 per cent of the total votes are not entitled to a seat. Members of parliament who are elected to the National Parliament on one list and who switch to another party/coalition after their election forfeit their seats.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by the "next-in-line" candidate of the same party/coalition. Seats vacated by women must be filled by the next woman candidate on the respective list. The seat remains vacant if there are no more unelected candidates or alternate candidates on the list to which the holder of the vacant seat belonged.
Voting is not compulsory, but voter registration is.
Voter requirements - citizenship of Timor-Leste
- age: at least 17 years old
- persons disenfranchised by sentence handed down by a court of law;
- persons clearly and publicly known to be mentally ill even if they have not been disenfranchised by a court of law.
Eligibility - qualified voters
- citizenship of Timor-Leste
- age: at least 17 years old
- the President of the Republic
- magistrates or public prosecutors in service
- serving career diplomats
- civil servants in service
- members of the Timor-Leste defence force in service
- members of the police in service
- ministers of any religion or cult
- members of the national electoral commission
Incompatibilities The offices of President of the Republic, Speaker of the National Parliament, President of the Supreme Court of Justice, President of the High Administrative, Tax and Audit Court, Prosecutor-General and member of Government may not be held by the same person/persons.
Candidacy requirements - Candidatures must be presented by duly registered political parties on party or coalition lists (the coalition must also be duly registered). The lists may include citizens not belonging to the respective parties or coalitions.
- One in every three candidates on the party lists must be a woman.
- No political party or party coalition may present more than one list of candidates.
- No one can be a candidate on more than one list.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union