Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assemblée nationale (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parliament / Parlement
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Assemblée nationale / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Sénat / Senate
Electoral Law 9 March 2006
Loi N° 06/006
Mode of designation directly elected 500
Constituencies - 60 single-member constituencies (majority system)
- 109 multi-member constituencies (proportional representation system)
Voting system Mixed: - Simple majority vote in constituencies with one seat to fill. Voters vote for a single candidate. The candidate with the highest number of votes is elected.
- Proportional representation in constituencies with two or more seats to fill. A proportional vote of open lists with a single preferential vote based on the largest remainder formula.
Each deputy is elected with two substitutes.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years old on the date of completion of identity and registration formalities
- Congolese nationality
- residence in the country on election day
Eligibility - qualified voters
- age: 25 years on the closing date for the submission of candidatures
- Congolese nationality
- enjoyment of full civil and political rights

- persons deprived of their civil and political rights
- persons tried for war crimes, genocide and crimes against humanity by an international criminal court
- undischarged bankruptcy
- persons with medically-certified complete mental incapacity during the five years prior to the elections
- civil servants and public administration agents who, by the closing date for the submission of candidatures, have not produced evidence of their request for release from their functions
- management executives of public or semi-public enterprises who, by the closing date for the submission of candidatures, have failed to tender their resignation
- magistrates who, by the closing date for the submission of candidatures, have failed to show that they have tendered their resignation
- members of the army and the Congolese national police service who, by the closing date for the submission of candidatures, have failed to prove that their resignation has been accepted or that they have effectively retired from service
- members of the independent Elections Commission at all levels, including staff
Incompatibilities - members of the Senate
- members of government
- members of a democracy-promoting institution
- members of the armed forced, national police and security services
- magistrates
- career public servants
- local government administration executives holding political-administrative office, with the exception of heads of local authorities, chieftainships and local associations;
- management executives of public enterprises
- members of the President of the Republic's cabinet, the Prime Minister's cabinet, the Speaker of the National Assembly's cabinet, the President of the Senate's cabinet, members of government and generally members of a political or administrative State authority, employees of a public or semi-public enterprise
- holders of any other elected office
- persons discharging functions for which they are remunerated by a foreign State or international body.
Candidacy requirements - payment per candidate or per list of a non-reimbursable deposit of 110,000 Congolese Franc (CDF)

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union