HOME -> PARLINE -> DOMINICA (House of Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
House of Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name House of Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 18 December 2009
Purpose of elections Early elections were held for all the 21 directly elected seats. General elections had previously been held in May 2005.
On 19 November 2009, Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit announced that early elections would be held on 18 December. They were constitutionally due by May 2010.

In the previous elections, which were held in May 2005, the Prime Minister's Dominica Labour Party (DLP) won 12 of the 21 directly elected seats. Its coalition partner, the Dominica Freedom Party (DFP), failed to win parliamentary representation for the first time since its inception in 1975. The main opposition, the United Workers Party (UWP), took eight seats. An independent candidate was also elected.

A record 62 candidates - 57 from five parties and five independent candidates - were vying for seats in 2009. Although the DFP was running, the elections were widely seen as a two horse race between the DLP and the UWP. The DLP was the only party fielding candidates in all 21 constituencies. The UWP and the DFP fielded 17 and 11 candidates respectively.

The DLP pledged to improve the climate for foreign investment and to develop the agricultural, tourism and technology sectors so as to modernize the local economy. It further promised to renovate the country's main roads and transform the capital into "the most modern and historic city" in the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).The DLP promised to pursue its efforts to establish a Caribbean Community Single Market and Economy (CSME) and to consolidate existing relations with the European Union, Canada and the United States.

Prime Minister Skerrit criticized the UWP for having "no plan for the country". In response, UWP leader Ronald Green launched a manifesto entitled "United for Dominica" on 15 December. It comprised 20 pledges for "smart growth" to be achieved within 24 months. It focused on restoring economic growth by boosting export earnings and rebuilding domestic demand. The UWP also promised to develop a "green economy" by investing in renewable energy. Many UWP candidates promised to create jobs and reduce the cost of fuel for fishermen. The UWP argued that Prime Minister Skerrit's dual French-Dominican citizenship violated the Constitution. The UWP also criticized the government for not reviewing the electoral roll, which comprised 67,000 registered voters for 72,000 inhabitants.

In the meantime, on 13 December, the DFP, led by Ms. Judith Pestaina, launched its manifesto. It pledged to pass a freedom of information bill that would allow citizens to find out how their taxes are spent. It also promised to introduce a national health insurance plan and proposed an EC$200 million (US$74 million) plan for agricultural diversification.

Turnout was reportedly high. The polls were monitored by the Organization of American States (OAS) and CARICOM. The OAS said that the elections had been free and fair. The CARICOM declared the voting process had been conducted in an orderly, free and peaceful manner.
The final results gave 18 seats to the DLP. The UWP took the three remaining seats. UWP leader Green lost to a DLP candidate by a margin of two votes. The DFP failed to win parliamentary representation for the second time in a row. Two women were elected.

On 4 February 2010, the newly elected House of Assembly held its first session, which was boycotted by members of the UWP. Five appointed members (all of whom are men) were sworn in on the same day. Ms. Alix Boyd Knights was re-elected as Speaker.

In the meantime, on 5 January, Prime Minister Skerrit's new cabinet was sworn in.
Voter turnout
Round no 118 December 2009
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
36'883 (54.87%)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
Dominica Labor Party (DLP) 18 6
United Workers' Party (UWP) 3 -5
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
21 to 30 years
31 to 40 years
41 to 50 years
51 to 60 years
61 to 70 years
Distribution of seats according to profession
The distribution of seats according to sex above refers to the 21 directly elected members.
As at 11 May 2010, there were five women (two directly elected and three appointed) out of 26 members. The remaining appointed members were subsequently sworn in. As at 7 December 2010, there were four women among the full 32 members.

- House of Assembly (22.02.2010, 24.02.2010, 12.05.2010, 07.12.2010, 09.12.2010, 01.01.2014)
- Electoral Office (12.02.2010)
- http://electoraloffice.gov.dm/results/index.html

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union