HOME -> PARLINE -> IRAQ (Council of Representatives of Iraq)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Council of Representatives of Iraq (Council of Representatives of Iraq)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Council of Representatives of Iraq
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 30 April 2014
Purpose of elections Prime Minister Nouri Maliki's State of Law coalition took 93 of the 328 seats at stake (up from 325 seats, see note). Two other Shia parties - the Sadrist blocs (Ahrar, loyal to Mr. Moqtada al-Sadr) and the Citizens' Coalition (Muwatin, led by Mr. Ammar al-Hakim) - won 34 and 31 seats each. In all, Shia parties took over 170 seats.

Among Sunni parties, the Mutahidoun bloc led by Speaker Osama Abdul Aziz Al-Nojefi, became the largest force, taking 28 seats. Deputy Prime Minister Saleh al-Mutlaq's Arabiya list followed with 10 seats.
A secular party, former Prime Minister Iyad Allawi's Wataniya list took 21 seats. Kurdish parties won a total of 62 seats. They include the Kurdistan Democratic Party (25 seats) and the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (21 seats) led by President Jalal Talabani.

The 2014 elections were the first to be held since the withdrawal of US troops in 2011. According to the United Nations, over 8,800 – including some 7,800 civilians - were killed in violent attacks in 2013, the highest in five years. Opposition parties blamed the Prime Minister for the insecurity in the country. Mr. Maliki blamed external factors, such as the conflict in Syria, for the escalation of the violence in Iraq.

The previous legislature elected in 2010 comprised 325 seats, including eight seats reserved for minority groups (Christian: 5; Sabean: 1; Shabak: 1; and Yizidi: 1) and seven national compensatory seats, allotted to the winning lists according to the proportion of votes they received in the elections. Following a Supreme Court ruling of November 2013 that deemed the “largest-remainder principle” used in the previous election to be unconstitutional, a “modified St. Laguë method” was used to calculate seats for the 2014 elections, thereby increasing the chances for smaller parties to win parliamentary representations. The Election Law No. (45), gazetted in December 2013, abolished the national compensatory seats. Instead, one seat each was added to the following 10 governorates: Anbar, Baghdad, Basra, Babil, Dhi Qar, Karbala, Diyala, Erbil, Dahuk and Sulaymaniya. The eight seats reserved for minority groups were retained.
Date of previous elections: 7 March 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 16 June 2014

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: April 2018

Number of seats at stake: 328 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 9,032 (6,425 men, 2,607 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 28.9%

Number of parties contesting the election: 107 electoral lists comprising 276 parties.

Number of parties winning seats: 15 electoral lists

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 1 July 2014

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 1 July 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Salim al-Jabouri (Diyala is Our Identity)
Voter turnout
Round no 130 April 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
13'640'000 (62%)

Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
State of Law coalition 95
Sadrist Movement 34
Citizens’ coalition (Muwatin) 31
Muttahidoon block 28
Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) 25
al-Wataniya 21
Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) 21
Others 19
Al-Arabiya Coalition 10
Gorran 9
minority groups 8
National Reform Trend 6
Fadhila 6
Diyala is Our Identity 5
Islamic Union of Kurdistan 4
Civil Democratic Alliance 3
Islamic Group in Kurdistan 3
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Source: Council of Representatives (28.05.2014)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union