HOME -> PARLINE -> TURKEY (Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (T.B.M.M))
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (T.B.M.M) (Grand National Assembly of Turkey)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (T.B.M.M) / Grand National Assembly of Turkey
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 7 June 2015
Purpose of elections The Justice and Development Party (AKP) lost its majority in the 550-member parliament for the first time since 2002. The pro-Kurdish Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) entered parliament for the first time, taking 80 seats. The AKP's possible coalition partner, the Nationalist Action Party (MHP, led by Mr. Devlet Bahceli), stated that other coalitions should be explored first, favouring the coalition between the AKP and the HDP. Both the main opposition Republican Peoples Party (CHP, led by Mr. Kemal Kilicdaroglu), which came second, and the HDP (led by Mr. Selahattin Demirtas) ruled out coalition with the AKP. The AKP said it would call early elections if coalition talks failed. On 9 June, Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu (AKP) resigned in a procedural move.

The 2015 elections were the first to be held under Prime Minister Davutoglu (AKP), who succeeded Mr. Recep Tayyip Erdogan when Mr. Erdogan was elected as President of the Republic in August 2014. In October 2014, President Erdogan said that writing a new Constitution would be a priority after the 2015 elections. He favoured a presidential system instead of the current parliamentary one. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on possible amendments to the 1982 Constitution, measures to revive the slowing economy amid turmoil in neighbouring Iraq and Syria, the ongoing Kurdish peace process (including providing for the disarmament of the Kurdistan Workers' Party (PKK)) and the balance between providing social services to 1.8 million Syrian refugees on the one hand and jobs and healthcare for Turks on the other.
Date of previous elections: 12 June 2011

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 7 June 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: June 2019

Number of seats at stake: 550 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 9,861 (7,236 men, 2,625 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 26.6%

Number of parties contesting the election: 20

Number of parties winning seats: 4

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 23 June 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Ismet Yilmaz (Justice and Development Party, AKP)
Voter turnout
Round no 17 June 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
47'507'389 (83.92%)

Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Justice and Development Party (AKP) 258
Republican People's Party (CHP) 132
Nationalist Action Party (MHP) 80
Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) 80
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
The Grand National Assembly of Turkey (19.06.2015)

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union