HOME -> PARLINE -> TURKEY (Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (T.B.M.M))
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (T.B.M.M) (Grand National Assembly of Turkey)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (T.B.M.M) / Grand National Assembly of Turkey
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 1 November 2015
Purpose of elections The ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) regained an absolute majority in parliament in a snap election (the previous elections took place in June 2015), jumping from 258 to 317 seats. The main opposition Republican Peoples Party (CHP, led by Mr. Kemal Kilicdaroglu) took two more seats to win 134 seats. On the contrary, the Nationalist Action Party (MHP, led by Mr. Devlet Bahceli), deemed as a possible coalition partner for the AKP, saw its share reduced by half to 40. The pro-Kurdish Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP, led by Mr. Selahattin Demirtas), which entered parliament for the first time in the June elections, took 59 seats, 21 less than in June. The number of women also decreased from a record 98 to 82.

The snap elections resulted from the failure of coalition talks following the June 2015 elections. On 24 August, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan (AKP) called fresh elections. Mr. Ahmet Davutoglu, AKP leader and outgoing Prime Minister, led an interim government through to the November elections. It included two HDP MPs, making them the first-ever Kurdish members of the government.

During the election campaign, the major parties focused on peace and stability, the economy, wages, education and reform of the judiciary. Observers led by the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) stated while the elections "offered voters a variety of choices", the challenging security situation and violent incidents "hindered contestants' ability to campaign freely".
Date of previous elections: 7 June 2015

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 1 November 2015

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: November 2019

Number of seats at stake: 550 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 8,426 (6,400 men, 2,026 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 24%

Number of parties contesting the election: 16

Number of parties winning seats: 4

Alternation of power: not applicable*
*No government formed after the June 2015 elections

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Justice and Development Party (AKP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 17 November 2015*
*On the fifth day following the announcement of the results of the general elections.

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Ismail Kahraman (Justice and Development Party, AKP)
Voter turnout
Round no 11 November 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
48'537'695 (85.23%)

Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Justice and Development Party (AKP) 317
Republican People's Party (CHP) 134
Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) 59
Nationalist Action Party (MHP) 40
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Grand National Assembly of Turkey (16.11.2015, 25.11.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union