ANNEXES | TABLE OF CONTENTS | ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Click on an image to enlarge:

Cover. Parliament and democracy in the twenty-first century	Chapter 2. A representative parliament	Chapter 3. A parliament that is open and transparent	Chapter 4. An accessible parliament
Chapter 5. A parliament that is accountable	Chapter 6. An effective parliament (I): The national level	Chapter 7. An effective parliament (II): Parliament's involvement in international affairs	Chapter 8. Facing the future

Cover and illustrations by Aloys, Les Studios Lolos, Carouge, Switzerland.

Further online reading about different electoral systems: Administration and Cost of Elections Project (2003). Electoral systems index <http://aceproject.org/ace-en/topics/es/default> Election Process Information Collection Project (2004). EPIC research results for electoral systems <http://ace.at.org/epic-en/es> International IDEA (2005). Electoral system design: The new International IDEA handbook <http://www.idea.int/publications/esd/upload/Idea_ESD_full.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2006). Parline database module on electoral systems <http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/parlinesearch.asp>

Further online reading about the percentages of women in national parliaments: Inter-Parliamentary Union (2005). Women in politics 2005: Poster <http://www.ipu.org/pdf/publications/wmnmap05_en.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2006). Women in national parliaments. Situation as of 28 February 2006 <http://www.ipu.org/wmn-e/classif.htm> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2006). Women in national parliaments. Statistical archive <http://www.ipu.org/wmn-e/world-arc.htm> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2006). Women in politics: 60 years in retrospect (Information Kit) <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/wmninfokit06_en.pdf>

Further online reading about the representation of minority and marginal communities: European Commission for Democracy Through Law (Venice Commission) (2000). Electoral law and national minorities <http://www.venice.coe.int/docs/2000/CDL-INF(2000)004-e.asp> European Commission for Democracy Through Law (Venice Commission) (2005). Report on electoral rules and affirmative action for national minorities’ participation in decision-making process in European countries <http://venice.coe.int/docs/2005/CDL-AD(2005)009-e.asp> Foundation on Inter-Ethnic Relations (1999). The Lund recommendations on the effective participation of national minorities in public life & explanatory note <http://www.osce.org/documents/hcnm/1999/09/2698_en.pdf> Ghai, Y (2001). Public participation and minorities. Minority Rights Group International <http://www.minorityrights.org/download.php?id=112> Norris, P (2004). Ethnic minorities, in Electoral engineering: voting rules and political behavior <http://ksghome.harvard.edu/~pnorris/ACROBAT/Institutions/Chapter 9.pdf> Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (2001). Guidelines to assist national minority participation in the electoral process. <http://www.osce.org/item/13589.html?ch=129>

Further online reading about the role and rights of opposition parties in parliaments: Inter-Parliamentary Union (1999). Guidelines on the rights and duties of the opposition in parliament <http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/gabon.htm>

Further online reading about gender inclusion in the work of parliaments: Inter-Parliamentary Union (2000). Politics: Women's insight <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/womeninsight_en.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2004). Enhancing the role of women in electoral processes in post-conflict countries. Post-election support <http://www.un.org/womenwatch/osagi/meetings/2004/EGMelectoral/EP3-IPU.PDF> Inter-Parliamentary Union, United Nations Development Programme (2002). National Seminar on "The Process of Engendering a New Constitution for Rwanda" <http://www.ipu.org/pdf/publications/kigali_bi.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union, United Nations Division for the Advancement of Women (2003). The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women and its Optional Protocol. Handbook for Parliamentarians <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/cedaw_en.pdf> The Commonwealth (2001). Gender-sensitizing Commonwealth parliaments <http://www.cpahq.org/uploadedFiles/Programmes_and_Activities/Professional_Development/g_report.pdf>

Further online reading about the use of minority and vernacular languages in the work of parliaments: Matiki, A (2002). Language planning and linguistic exclusion in the legislative process in Malawi <http://www.linguapax.org/congres/taller/taller1/Matiki.html> The House: New Zealand's House of Representatives 1854-2004 (2005). Parliament in Te Reo <http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/politics/the-work-of-government/history-of-parliament/parliament-in-te-reo>

Further online reading about the rights of parliamentarians: Inter-Parliamentary Union (1993). Inter-parliamentary symposium "Parliament: Guardian of human rights". Summing-up of the deliberations by the President of the symposium <http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/budapest.htm> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2006). Human rights and humanitarian law <http://www.ipu.org/iss-e/hr-law.htm> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2006). Parline database module on the parliamentary mandate <http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/parlinesearch.asp> McGee, S (2001). Rules on parliamentary immunity in the European Parliament and the member States of the European Union. European Centre for Parliamentary Research and Documentation <http://www.ecprd.org/ecprd/getfile.do?id=5062> Myttenaere, R (1998). The immunities of members of parliament, in Constitutional and Parliamentary Information N° 175. Association of Secretaries General of Parliaments <http://www.asgp.co/Resources/Data/Documents/UJJICUIPKRGKNWTBNCAMSZFAGOKNXL.pdf>

Further online reading about the rights of parliamentarians in relation to their parties: Norris, P (2004). Building political parties: reforming legal regulations and internal rules. International IDEA <http://www.idea.int/parties/upload/pippa norris ready for wev _3_.pdf> Scarrow, S (2005). Political Parties and Democracy in Theoretical and Practical Perspectives: Implementing Intra-Party Democracy. National Democratic Institute <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1951_polpart_scarrow_110105.pdf> The Commonwealth (2002). Commonwealth (Latimer House) Principles on the three branches of government <http://www.cpahq.org/uploadedFiles/Programmes_and_Activities/Commonwealth_Promotion/CommonwealthPrinciplesonThreeArmsofGovernment.pdf>

Further online reading about the Puttnam Commission on Communication of Parliamentary Democracy: Puttnam Commission on Communication of Parliamentary Democracy (2005). Members only? Parliament in the public eye. Hansard Society <http://www.hansardsociety.org.uk/programmes/puttnam_commission>

Further online reading about freedom of information and model laws: Article 19 (2001). A model Freedom of Information Law <http://www.article19.org/pdfs/standards/modelfoilaw.pdf> Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (2003) Recommendations for an informed democracy <http://www.cpahq.org/uploadedFiles/Information_Services/Publications/CPA_Electronic_Publications/Recommendations%20for%20an%20Informed%20Democracy%20%20-%20Perth.pdf> Freedominfo.org <http://www.freedominfo.org/> Mendel, T (2005). Parliament and access to information: working for transparent governance <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/WBI/Resources/Parliament_and_Access_to_Information_with_cover.pdf> Organization of American States (2003). AG/RES. 1932 (XXXIII-O/03): Access to public information: strengthening democracy <http://www.oas.org/juridico/english/ga03/agres_1932.htm> The Commonwealth (2003). Model Freedom of Information Act <http://www.thecommonwealth.org/shared_asp_files/uploadedfiles/{AC090445-A8AB-490B-8D4B-F110BD2F3AB1}_Freedom of Information.pdf>

Further online reading about freedom of expression and parliaments: Article 19 (2000). Defining defamation: principles on freedom of expression and protection of reputation <http://www.article19.org/pdfs/standards/definingdefamation.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2005). Seminar for chairpersons and members of parliamentary human rights bodies on freedom of expression, parliament and the promotion of tolerant societies: summary and recommendations presented by the rapporteur of the seminar <http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/sfe/conclusions.pdf>

Further online reading about media regulations: Bouchet, N; Kariithi, N.K (2003). Parliament and the media: building an informed society. World Bank Institute, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/WBI/Resources/wbi37228BouchetKariithiWEB.pdf>

Further online reading about parliamentary websites: Inter-Parliamentary Union (2000). Guidelines for the content and structure of parliamentary websites <http://www.ipu.org/cntr-e/web.pdf> Kingham, T (2003). e-Parliaments: the use of information and communication technologies to improve parliamentary processes. World Bank Institute <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/WBI/Resources/wbi37210Kingham.pdf> Norris, P (2000). Online Parliaments, in Digital divide: civic engagement, information poverty, and the Internet worldwide (Chapter 7) <http://ksghome.harvard.edu/~pnorris/acrobat/digitalch7.pdf>

Further online reading about the organisation of parliamentary constituency offices: National Democratic Institute (2002). Constituency handbook for elected representatives in Namibia <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1376_na_constituencyhdbk.pdf> United Nations Development Programme (nd). The legislature and constituency relations <http://www.undp.org/governance/docs/Parl-Pub-constrelat.htm>

Further online reading about ombudsman institutions: Christopoulos, D; Hormovitis, D (ed.) (2003). The ombudsman institution in south-eastern Europe <http://unpan1.un.org/intradoc/groups/public/documents/untc/unpan014896.pdf> National Democratic Institute (2005). The role and effectiveness of the ombudsman institution <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1904_gov_ombudsman_080105.pdf> Ombudsman Information Network (2005). European countries' ombudsmen <http://www.anticorruption.bg/ombudsman/eng/readnews.php?id=2901&lang=en&t_style=tex&l_style=default> Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (2003). Recommendation 1615 (2003): the institution of ombudsman <http://assembly.coe.int/Documents/AdoptedText/ta03/EREC1615.htm>

Further online reading about parliamentary human rights committees: Inter-Parliamentary Union (2004). Strengthening parliament as a guardian of human rights: the role of parliamentary human rights bodies. Seminar for Chairpersons and Members of Parliamentary Human Rights Bodies <http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/hr04.htm> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2005). Parline database: specialized parliamentary bodies <http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/Instanceadvanced.asp> National Democratic Institute (2004). Parliamentary human rights committees <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1905_gov_parlhrscommittees_080105.pdf>

Further online reading about modes of civil society participation in legislative processes: Krafchik, W (nd). Can civil society add value to budget decision-making? A description of civil society budget work. International Budget Project <http://www.internationalbudget.org/resources/library/civilsociety.pdf> National Democratic Institute, Parliament of the Republic of Namibia (2001). Public participation in the legislation process. <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1408_na_publicpart_093101.pdf> The Scottish Office (2000). Involving civil society in the work of parliaments. <http://www.scotland.gov.uk/government/devolution/cpsp-00.asp>

Further online reading about international collaboration and training programmes on gender budgeting: Gender responsive budget initiatives <http://www.gender-budgets.org/> International Budget Project (2006). Related websites - by topic area: gender, youth, and development <http://www.internationalbudget.org/resources/sites/gender_youth.htm> Inter-Parliamentary Union, United Nations Development Programme, World Bank Institute and United Nations Fund for Women (2004). Handbook: Parliament, the budget and gender <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/budget_en.pdf>

Reports of IPU seminars on Parliament and the Budgetary Process, including from a Gender Perspective: Inter-Parliamentary Union (2000). Regional seminar for English-speaking African Parliaments, 22-24 May 2000, Nairobi (Kenya) <http://www.ipu.org/pdf/publications/nairobi_en.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2001).Seminaire regional pour les parlements francophones d'afrique, 1er-3 novembre 2001, Bamako (Mali) <http://www.ipu.org/pdf/publications/mali01_fr.pdf> (document in French) Inter-Parliamentary Union (2002). Regional seminar for ASEAN+3 parliaments, 23 to 25 July 2002, Manila (Philippines) <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/manila02_en.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2004). Regional seminar for parliaments of south-west Asia, 26 to 28 May 2003, Colombo (Sri Lanka) <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/colombo_en.pdf>

Further online reading about citizen initiatives: C2D - research and documentation centre on direct democracy (2005) <http://c2d.unige.ch/> Project ACE (2004). Citizen initiatives. Focus on Direct Democracy <http://aceproject.org/ace-en/focus/direct-democracy> Zimmerman, J (2001). Citizen initiative. Administration and Cost of Elections Project

Further online reading about codes of conduct and conflicts of interest: Association of Secretaries General of Parliaments (1998). Codes of conduct for parliamentary staff, in Constitutional and parliamentary information, N° 175 <http://www.asgp.co/Resources/Data/Documents/XIVWFDRMFRLVBFTDJWWLDBDJTKCIXR.pdf> European Centre for Parliamentary Research and Documentation (2001). Parliamentary codes of conduct in Europe: an overview <http://www.ecprd.org/ecprd/getfile.do?id=5073> National Conference of State Legislatures (nd). Model code of conduct for legislative staff <http://www.ncsl.org/racss/codeofconduct.htm> National Democratic Institute (1999). Legislative ethics: a comparative overview <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/026_ww_legethics.pdf> Stapenhurst, R. and Pelizzo, R. (2004). Legislative ethics and codes of conduct. World Bank Institute <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/EXTPARLIAMENTARIANS/Resources/Legislative_Ethics_and_Codes_of_Conduct.pdf>

Further online reading about party financing: Austin, R. and Tjernström, M. (eds) (2003). Funding of parties and election campaigns. International IDEA <http://www.idea.int/publications/funding_parties/upload/full.pdf> Bryan, S. and Baer, D (eds.) (2005). Money in politics: a study of party financing practices in 22 countries. National Democratic Institute <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1848_polpart_moneyinpolitics_010105_full_text.pdf> International IDEA (2005). Political finance database <http://www.idea.int/parties/finance/db/> Johnston, M. (2005). Political parties and democracy in theoretical and practical perspectives: political finance policy, parties, and democratic development. National Democratic Institute <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1949_polpart_johnston_110105.pdf> Moneyandpolitics.net. <http://www.moneyandpolitics.net/>

Further online reading about survey findings on parliaments: Afrobarometer <http://www.afrobarometer.org/> Bratton, M, Chu, Y-H, Lagos, M & Rose, R (2005). The people’s voice: trust in political institutions, in Ten years of supporting democracy worldwide. International IDEA <http://www.idea.int/publications/anniversary/upload/Inlay_s enttoprint_30May05.pdf> Centre for the Study of Public Policy, University of Aberdeen <http://www.abdn.ac.uk/cspp/> Asian Barometer <http://www.asianbarometer.org/> Eurobarometer <http://europa.eu.int/comm/public_opinion/index_en.htm> Latinobarometer <http://www.latinobarometro.org/> Rolef, Susan (2006). Public trust in parliament - a comparative study <http://www.knesset.gov.il/mmm/data/pdf/me01417.pdf>

Further online reading about parliamentary self-organisation: Association of Secretaries General of Parliaments (1991). The Parliamentary Budget, in Constitutional and parliamentary information, N° 161 <http://www.asgp.co/Resources/Data/Documents/UUELRQYYICJCPTBSGBJTOTYJDIVHON.pdf> Association of Secretaries General of Parliaments (1999). The administrative and financial autonomy of parliamentary assemblies, in Constitutional and parliamentary information, N° 177 <http://www.asgp.co/Resources/Data/Documents/CVCNKQUEFMEUUCJWPENOSNADTHSKQJ.pdf> Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (2005). Administration and financing of parliament: a study group report <http://www.cpahq.org/uploadedFiles/Information_Services/Publications/CPA_Electronic_Publications/AdministrationandFinancingofParliamentStudyGroupReport.pdf> Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (2005). Study group on the administration and financing of parliament: key recommendations <http://www.cpahq.org/uploadedFiles/Information_Services/Publications/CPA_Electronic_Publications/TheadministrationandfinancingofParliaments%20recommendations.pdf> Reports from a seminar on parliamentary administrations and legislative cooperation, organised by ECPRD and the Italian Chamber of Deputies (2003). <http://de.camera.it/files/pdf/dossier.pdf>

Further online reading about improving the legislative process: Global Centre for Information and Communication Technology in Parliament <http://www.ictparliament.org/> Inter-American Development Bank (2006). Political Parties, Legislatures, and Presidents, in Economic and social progress in Latin America, 2006 Report (Chapter 3) <http://www.iadb.org/res/ipes/2006/chapter3.cfm> Inter-Parliamentary Union, United Nations Development Programme (2003). Ten years of strengthening parliaments in Africa, 1991-2000. Lessons learnt and the way forward <http://www.ipu.org/pdf/publications/africa2000_en.pdf> United Nations Development Programme (2003). Parliamentary Development practice note <http://www.undp.org/governance/docs/ParlPN_ENGLISH.pdf> U.S. Agency for International Development (2000). USAID Handbook on Legislative Strengthening <http://www.usaid.gov/our_work/democracy_and_governance/publications/pdfs/pnacf632.pdf>

Further online reading about oversight through the committee system: Gay, O and Winetrobe, B (2003). Parliamentary audit: the audit committee in comparative context. A report to the audit committee of the Scottish parliament <http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/business/committees/historic/audit/reports-03/aur03-legacy-02.htm> Krafchik, W. and Wehner, J. (2004). Legislatures and budget oversight: best practices <http://www.revenuewatch.org/reports/kazakhstan_parliament_budget_forum.pdf> National Democratic Institute (1996). Committees in legislatures: a division of labor <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/030_ww_committees.pdf>

Further online reading about independent oversight bodies: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (2002). Relations between supreme audit institutions and parliamentary committees <http://appli1.oecd.org/olis/2002doc.nsf/linkto/ccnm-gov-sigma(2002)1> World Bank (2001). Features and functions of supreme audit institutions <http://www1.worldbank.org/prem/PREMNotes/premnote59.pdf> National Audit Office (2005). State Audit in the European Union<http://www.nao.org.uk/publications/state_audit/State_Audit_Book.pdf>>

Further online reading about parliamentary oversight of the executive: Inter-Parliamentary Union (2006). Parline database module on parliamentary oversight <>http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/parlinesearch.asp> National Democratic Institute (2000). Strengthening legislative capacity in legislative-executive relations <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/980_gov_legcapacity.pdf> Pelizzo, R., Stapenhurst, R. and Olson, D. (eds.) (2004). Trends in parliamentary oversight. World Bank Institute <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/WBI/Resources/TrendsinParliamentaryOversight-FINAL.pdf> Pelizzo, R., Stapenhurst, R. (eds.) (2004). Legislatures and oversight. World Bank Institute <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/EXTPARLIAMENTARIANS/Resources/Legislatures_and_Oversight.pdf>

Further online reading about parliamentary oversight of security policy: Inter-Parliamentary Union, Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces (2003). Parliamentary oversight of the security sector principles, mechanisms and practices <http://www.dcaf.ch/oversight/proj_english.cfm?navsub1=12&navsub2=3&nav1=3> National Democratic Institute (2005). Democratic oversight of police forces, mechanisms for accountability and community policing. <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1906_gov_policing_080105.pdf>

Further online reading about the budgetary process in parliament: Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (2001). Parliamentary oversight of finance and the budgetary process. The report of a Commonwealth Parliamentary Association workshop, Nairobi, Kenya, 10th -14th December, 2001 <http://www.cpahq.org/uploadedFiles/Information_Services/Publications/CPA_Electronic_Publications/parliamentary%20oversight%20of%20finance%20and%20the%20budgetary%20process.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union, United Nations Development Programme, World Bank Institute and United Nations Fund for Women (2004). Handbook: Parliament, the budget and gender <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/budget_en.pdf> National Democratic Institute (2003). Legislatures and the budget process. An international survey <http://www.accessdemocracy.org/library/1651_gov_budget_093103.pdf> Santiso, C (2005). Budget institutions and fiscal responsibility: parliaments and the political economy of the budget process in latin america. World Bank Institute <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/WBI/Resources/Budget_Institutions_and_fiscal_responsibility_FINAL.pdf> Wehner, J (2004). Back from the sidelines? Redefining the contribution of legislatures to the budget cycle. World Bank Institute <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/EXTPARLIAMENTARIANS/Resources/Back_from_the_Sidelines_Joachim_Wehner.pdf>

Further online reading about scrutiny of public accounts and anti-corruption strategies: Global Organization of Parliamentarians against Corruption (2005). Controlling corruption: a parliamentarian’s handbook <http://www.gopacnetwork.org/Docs/CCH_FINAL_Aug_05_ENG.pdf> Global Organization of Parliamentarians against Corruption <http://www.gopacnetwork.org/> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2001). The role of parliaments in the fight against corruption <http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/hague01-bkgr.htm> Pelizzo, R., Sahgal, V., Stapenhurst, R., Woodley, W. (2005). Scrutinizing public expenditures: assessing the performance of public accounts committees. World Bank <http://www-wds.worldbank.org/servlet/WDS_IBank_Servlet?pcont=details&eid=000090341_20050516071440>

Further online reading about parliamentary involvement in conflict resolution: Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (2004). Role of parliament in conflict-affected countries <http://www.cpahq.org/default.aspx?id=7464> Inter-Parliamentary Union, International IDEA (2005). Making reconciliation work: the role of parliaments <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/reconciliation_en.pdf> O’Brien, M (2005). Parliaments as peacebuilders: The role of parliaments in conflict-affected countries. World Bank Institute, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/WBI/Resources/PARLIAMENTS_AS_PEACEBUILDERS-FINAL.pdf> United Nations Development Programme (2006). Initiative on strengthening the role of parliaments in crisis prevention and recovery <http://www.parlcpr.undp.org/>

Further online reading about parliamentary involvement in international affairs: Chutikul, K (2003). Options for a parliamentary dimension of the WTO. Discussion paper presented to the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO. Inter-Parliamentary Union <http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/trade03/2c.pdf> Committee for a democratic UN <http://www.uno-komitee.de/> Hubli, S., & Mandaville, A. (2004). Parliaments and the PRSP process. World Bank Institute <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/WBI/Resources/wbi37231HubliMandavilleweb.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union (2005). Parliamentary involvement in international affairs <http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/sp-conf05/involvement-rpt.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union, United Nations Division for the Advancement of Women (2003). The Convention on the elimination of all forms of discrimination against women and its Optional protocol. Handbook for parliamentarians <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/cedaw_en.pdf> Inter-Parliamentary Union, United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (2005). Human rights: Handbook for parliamentarians <http://www.ipu.org/PDF/publications/hr_guide_en.pdf> United Nations Development Programme, National Democratic Institute (2004). Strengthening parliament involvement in the Poverty Reduction Strategy Process and the Millennium Development Goals <http://www.undp.org/governance/docs/parl_other/Parl%20-%20Guides%20-%20parlthandbooks.htm>

Further online reading about parliamentary oversight of national representatives in the EU Council of Ministers: Travers, D (2002). European Affairs Committees. The influence of national parliaments on European Policies. European Centre for Parliamentary Research and Documentation <http://www.ecprd.org/ecprd/getfile.do?id=5087>