HOME -> PARLINE -> CANADA (House of Commons )
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
House of Commons

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Parliament of Canada - Parlement du Canada
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name House of Commons
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 19 October 2015
Purpose of elections The Liberal Party, led by Mr. Justin Trudeau - a son of former Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau - won an outright majority in the enlarged 338-member House of Commons, thereby denying a fourth term to Prime Minister Stephen Harper and his Conservative Party. The Liberal Party - which was only the third largest party in the outgoing legislature - increased its share of seats from 11% to 54%. On the contrary, the New Democratic Party (NDP), led by Mr. Thomas Mulcair, saw its share of seats reduced from 33% to 13% and came in third. A record 10 indigenous people entered the House of Commons, up from seven in the 2011 elections. Mr. Harper conceded defeat and resigned as party leader. The 43-year-old new Prime Minister immediately announced that Canada would withdraw its fighter jets from the US-led mission against Islamic State in Iraq and Syria. His Cabinet, composed equally of men and women, was sworn in on 4 November.

The 2015 elections saw a record 78-day campaigning period , the longest in Canada since 1872. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on the economy, taxation and the budget. Prime Minister Harper promised low taxes, balanced budgets and more austerity. Liberal leader Trudeau said he would run a budget deficit to invest more in the country's economy.
Date of previous elections: 2 May 2011

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 2 August 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: 21 October 2019*
*Subject to an earlier dissolution of Parliament, a general election must be held on the third Monday in October in the fourth calendar year following polling day for the last general election.

Number of seats at stake: 308 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,792 (1,256 men, 536 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 29.9%

Number of parties contesting the election: 23

Number of parties winning seats: 5

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Liberal Party

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 3 December 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Geoff Regan (Liberal Party)
Voter turnout
Round no 119 October 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
17'711'983 (68.01%)

Notes Voter turnout does not include electors who registered on election day.
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Liberal Party
Conservative Party
New Democratic Party (NDP)
Bloc Québécois (BQ)
Green Party
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Liberal Party 184
Conservative Party 99
New Democratic Party (NDP) 44
Bloc Québécois (BQ) 10
Green Party 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Parliament (12.11.2015, 03.12.2015, 01.01.2017, 10.01.2018)
Report on the 42nd General Election of October 19, 2015

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union