HOME -> PARLINE -> FINLAND (Eduskunta - Riksdagen)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Eduskunta - Riksdagen (Parliament)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Eduskunta - Riksdagen / Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 10 February 1998
Mode of designation directly elected 200
Constituencies - 14 multi-member (6 to 33 seats) provincial constituencies
- 1 single-member constituency (province of Aland)
Voting system Proportional: - 199 members are elected in 14 constituencies by proportional representation. Seats are distributed among the individual parties, or alliances of several parties, in accordance with the d'Hondt method. For the distribution of seats within each list, candidates are ranked according to the number of personal votes they have polled.
- one member is elected by simple majority vote in the province of Aland
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by individuals who are "next in line" on the list of the party which formerly held the seat.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Finnish citizenship
Eligibility Qualified electors
- ineligibility: persons under guardianship, active military service
Incompatibilities - Chancellor of Justice and his/her deputy
- Ombudsman of Parliament and his/her deputy
- Prosecutor General
- Members of the Supreme Court and the Supreme Administrative Court
Candidacy requirements - nomination by registered political party or constituency association of at least 100 voters (30 in the province of Aland)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union