HOME -> PARLINE -> MEXICO (Cámara de Senadores)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Cámara de Senadores (Senate)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Congreso de la Unión / Congress of the Union
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Cámara de Senadores / Senate
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Cámara de Diputados / Chamber of Deputies
Electoral Law 31 January 1917
Last amendment: 1996
Mode of designation directly elected 128
Constituencies - 32 multimember (three seats each) constituencies corresponding to the 31 states and the federal district;
- a single national constituency for 32 seats.

Voting system Mixed: Political parties submit a list of two candidates for each state;

Majority system: A total of 96 seats are filled by majority system, of which
- 64 seats are allocated to the two candidates receiving the largest amount of votes in each state;
- 32 seats are allocated to one candidate from the party which obtained the second largest amount of votes in each state (minority senators).

Proportional representation system:
- 32 seats are filled by a proportional representation system, based on party lists.

Voting is compulsory (no sanctions).
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Mexican citizenship
- honest means of livelihood
- disqualifications: criminal conviction, imprisonment, fugitive from justice, sentence imposing suspension
Eligibility - qualified electors
- age: 25 years old on the day of the election;
- Mexican citizenship by birth;
- full possession of political rights;
- Six-month residence in the state where elections are held or in a neighbouring state.
Incompatibilities - Members and former members (having left the service less than 90 days prior to the elections) of the federal army, of the police or of the rural gendarmerie in the district where the elections are held;
- State secretary or sub-secretary, Justice of the national Supreme Court. However, secretaries resigning 90 days or more before the election and judges doing so two years before the elections are allowed to run for elections;
- State government secretaries, magistrates and federal or state judges. However, persons running for other jurisdictions or those resigning from their duties 90 days before the elections are allowed to run for elections;
- Ministers of any religious group;
- Former senators and deputies who served in the term immediately preceding the elections.
Candidacy requirements - candidatures submitted by duly registered political parties.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union