HOME -> PARLINE -> SLOVAKIA (Národná rada )
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Národná rada (National Council)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Narodna rada Slovenskej republiky / National Council
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 16 March 1990
Last amendment: 29 May 2014 (Act 180/2014 & Act 181/2014)
Mode of designation directly elected 150
Constituencies One nationwide constituency.
Voting system Proportional: Closed party list system using Hagenbach Bischoff method and greatest remainders calculation for leftover seats.
Each elector can cast four preferential votes for candidates with respect to the same list.
Each party (even listed in a coalition) needs to obtain 5% of the national vote to gain parliamentary representation.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by substitutes chosen at the same time as titular members.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Slovak citizenship (including naturalized citizens)
- citizens overseas can vote under certain conditions.
- disqualifications: imprisonment, legal incapacity, limitation on personal freedom for health purposes
Eligibility - qualified electors
- age: 21 years
- Slovak citizenship (including naturalized citizens)
- permanent residence in country
- ineligibilities: imprisonment, legal incapacity and limitation on personal freedom for health purposes.
Incompatibilities - President of the Republic
- judges
- public prosecutor
- police and career military officers
- prison or judicial guards
- ombudsman
- members of the European Parliament
Candidacy requirements - candidature must be submitted at least 90 days prior to elections
- candidature must be submitted by political parties, each of which must have a minimum of 10,000 members unless it had representatives in the outgoing legislature
- deposit for political parties: 17,000 euros, reimbursed if the party has obtained at least 2% of the valid vote

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union