HOME -> PARLINE -> VIET NAM (Quoc-Hoi)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Quoc-Hoi (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Quoc-Hoi / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 22 May 2016
Purpose of elections As in previous elections, the Communist Party - the only legal political party in Viet Nam – presented most of the candidates for election to the 500-member National Assembly (see note). In 2016, 870 candidates stood for election, including 97 non-party members (down from 118) and 11 self-nominated candidates (those who are not nominated by State or party agencies, down from 15). The 2015 electoral law requires that at least 35 per cent of candidates be women. At the 2016 election, 39% of the candidates were women. All candidatures, irrespective of category, were screened by the Fatherland Front, an umbrella body of pro-government mass-movements close to the Communist Party.

The 2016 elections followed the 12th National Congress of the Communist Party in January which re-elected Mr. Nguyen Phu Trong as General Secretary of the Party's Central Committee. The Secretary General pledged to move Vietnam towards modernisation. Prior to the 2016 elections, the National Assembly chose the country's new leaders. On 31 March, Ms. Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan was elected as the first woman Speaker in Viet Nam. On 2 and 7 April, the National Assembly elected Mr. Tran Dai Quang as the new President and Mr. Nguyen Xuan Phuc as the new Prime Minister.

On polling day, Communist Party General Secretary Trong called on all candidates to "serve the country and the people and fully implement duties and responsibilities stipulated by the Constitution and law to take part in national governance". According to the election commission, 99.35 percent of nearly 70 million registered voters turned out at the polls. The successful candidates included 475 Communist Party members and 21 non-party members among which 2 were self-nominated candidates. In all, 133 women and 86 people from ethnic minorities were elected.

Note: In accordance with the law on the organization of the National Assembly, the statutory number of members shall not exceed 500. In 2016, 496 members were elected.
Date of previous elections: 22 May 2011

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 19 July 2016

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: May 2021

Number of seats at stake: 500 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 870 (531 men, 339 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 39%

Number of parties contesting the election: 1

Number of parties winning seats: 1

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Communist Party

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 20 July 2016

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan (Communist Party)
Voter turnout
Round no 122 May 2016
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
67'049'091 (99.35%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Communist Party
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Communist Party 473
Non-party 21
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (09.06.2016, 18.07.2016, 30.08.2016)

Note on the distribution of seats:
The number of "Non-party members" above includes two self-nominated members.
Two candidates-elect (one man and one woman, both members of the Communist Party) were disqualified before the first session of the newly elected National Assembly held on 20 July.
Consequently, the number of seats for the Communist Party decreased from 475 to 473.

Note on the "Distribution of seats according to sex":
Initially, 133 women were elected out of 496 candidates.
Two candidates-elect (one man and one woman) were disqualified before the first session of the newly elected National Assembly held on 20 July.
The number of women thus decreased from 133 to 132 out of 494 members.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union