HOME -> PARLINE -> TAJIKISTAN (Majlisi namoyandogon)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Majlisi namoyandogon (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Majlisi Oli / Supreme Council
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Majlisi namoyandogon / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlisi milli / National Assembly
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 27 February 2005
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all seats in the House of Representatives on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.
The second elections since the end of the civil war in 1997 were held for the House of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandagon) on 27 February 2005. A total of 227 candidates ran in the elections in this mountainous country of 7 million inhabitants of whom 2.7 million were eligible to vote.

Before the elections the People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) led by President Emomali Rakhmonov controlled 65 per cent of the seats in parliament followed by the pro-government Communist Party of Tajikistan (CPT) which held about 20 percent. The only other party represented in parliament was the opposition Islamic Renaissance Party of Tajikistan (IRPT) controlling 7.5 per cent of the seats. The remaining seats were held by independents. The IRPT was the main group of the United Tajikistan Opposition (UTO) which had signed a peace agreement on 27 June 1997 with President Rakhmonov. The IRPT is also the only legal Islamic party in Central Asia.

Many analysts doubted that the elections would be fair especially with regard to the registration of candidates. For the 22 seats based on party lists the PDPT and IRPT had 21 and 15 candidates respectively while other parties had fewer: nine for CPT four for the Democratic Party (DPT) five for the Socialist Party (SPT) and seven for the Social-Democratic Party (SDPT). Election officials announced on 14 January that any candidates receiving financial support from foreign organizations or individuals would be barred from taking part in the elections.

Access to voters was the main challenge for many candidates. Although newspapers and televisions are available many Tajiks simply cannot afford them. The country is the the poorest in Central Asia with over 80 per cent the population living below the poverty line and only six hours of electricity available per day during winter time. The National Association of Independent Mass Media in Tajikistan also claimed that authorities were limiting the media’s access to and dissemination of information. Face-to-face campaigning was thus often the only way to reach voters. However even this method was difficult due to heavy snowfall across the country. While the two dominant political groups the PDPT and CPT had access to vehicles for their campaign opposition groups did not; they had to go to villages on horseback or even on foot.

A total of 18 000 international and local observers including 207 from the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) and 150 from the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) monitored the elections. Both observer missions praised improvements in security compared to the 2000 election. But opinions were divided about the rest of the process. The CIS observers called the elections as "legitimate and free" while those of the OSCE criticized them for failing to meet many key OSCE commitments and other international standards for democratic elections. For instance they noted that opposition representatives were not included in some election commissions.

Turnout was above 90 per cent according to the central election commission although this figure was challenged by OSCE officials. Some opposition parties signed a petition to protest against irregularities calling for the elections to be declared invalid.

In the first round the PDPT obtained about 64 per cent of the votes or 63 seats the CPT received four seats while IRPT took only two. Independents won five seats. The three remaining seats were won by the PDPT in the run-off election held on 13 March.
Voter turnout
Round no 127 February 2005
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
2'902'316 (92.59%)
Round no 213 March 2005
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
194'391 (89.3%)
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) 1'666'909 64.51
Communist Party of Tajikistan (CPT) 395'534 13.97
Islamic Renaissance Party of Tajikistan (IRPT) 259'224 9.15
Round no 2
Political Group Candidates Votes %
People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) 74.70
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) 49
Independents 5
Communist Party of Tajikistan (CPT) 4
Islamic Renaissance Party of Tajikistan (IRPT) 2
Round no 2
Political Group Total
People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) 3
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
31 to 40 years
41 to 50 years
51 to 60 years
61 to 70 years
Distribution of seats according to profession
Teachers 21
Lawyers 15
Engineer - mechanic 12
Agronomists 8
Economists 6
Medical professions 1
Majlisi Namoyandogon (17.06.2005)

Radio Free Europe (www.rferl.org)
CNN (www.cnn.com)
ITAR-TASS (www.itar-tass.com)

Copyright 1996-2010 Inter-Parliamentary Union