HOME -> PARLINE -> BHUTAN (Tshogdu)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Tshogdu (National Assembly)

This page contains the full text of the PARLINE database entry on the selected parliamentary chamber, with the exception of Specialized bodies modules which, because of their excessive length, can be only viewed and printed separately.


Parliament name (generic / translated) Chi Tshog / Parliament
More photos  >>>
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Tshogdu / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Gyelyong Tshogde / National Council
Affiliation to the IPU Yes
Affiliation date(s) 2013 -
President Jigme Zangpo (M) 
Notes Elected on 2 Aug. 2013.
Secretary General Sangay Duba (M) 
Notes Appointed on 22 May 2015.
Members (statutory / current number) 47 / 47

More statistics  >>>
Women (current number) 4 (8.51%)
Mode of designation directly elected 47
Term 5 years
Last renewal dates 13 July 2013
(View details)
Address National Assembly Secretariat
P.O. Box 139
Gyelyong Tshokhang
Thimpu, BHUTAN
(Export mailing lists)
Phone (975 2) 32 27 29
32 27 93
Fax (975 2) 32 42 10
E-mail nab@druknet.bt


Parliament name (generic / translated) Chi Tshog / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Tshogdu / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Gyelyong Tshogde / National Council
Electoral law 30 June 2007
(Royal Decree), Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan 2008, Public Election Fund Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan 2008
Mode of designation directly elected 47
Constituencies 47 single-member constituencies
Voting system Majority: Single member plurality system ("first past the post")
Elections are held in two rounds. In the "primary round" (first round), Bhutanese vote for the political party of their choice. In the "general election" (second round), the two political parties that obtain the highest number of votes in the primary round field their candidates.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by elections.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - Bhutanese citizenship, including through naturalization
- Age: at least 18 years old on election day
- Residence in the constituency at least one year prior to election
Qualified voters who are on diplomatic assignments, working in Bhutanese Embassies, on special duty abroad, their spouses and dependants, civil servants, students and those serving in the armed forces, officials on election duty and voters specifically permitted by the Election Commission in consultation with the government can vote through postal ballots.

- Persons of unsound mind and stands so declared by a competent court
- Persons disqualified from voting under the Election Act or any other law in force in Bhutan.
Eligibility - Bhutanese citizenship
- Age: minimum of 25 years and maximum of 65 years at the time of registration
- Registration in the constituency concerned
- University degree
- Members of political parties

- Members of the Royal Family
- Serving members of the armed forces
- Serving civil servants
- Clergymen
- Persons registered under Religious Organizations Act
- Serving executives and members of the Electoral Commission
- Persons married to non-Bhutanese nationals
- Conviction for crime, bribery, or electoral offence
- Persons who are mentally unfit or specifically barred from voting under the laws of the country.
Incompatibilities - Head of State
- Members of the other chamber
- Holders of public office
- Civil servants (at the national level)
- Executives and members of the Electoral Commission
- Chief of electoral staff
- Members of the armed forces
- Members of the police forces
- Clergymen
*The incompatibilities cited above are valid during the term of office.
- Holders of temporary entry permits
- Undocumented immigrants
- Insanity/mental illness
Candidacy requirements - Candidature must be submitted by political parties.


Parliament name (generic / translated) Chi Tshog / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Tshogdu / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Gyelyong Tshogde / National Council
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 13 July 2013
Timing and scope of renewal Mr. Tshering Tobgay's People's Democratic Party (PDP) won an absolute majority, taking 32 of the National Assembly's 47 seats, whereas it had only won two seats in the 2008 elections. Although it was leading after the primary round (see note), Prime Minister Jigme Thinley's Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) saw its share fall from 45 to 15 seats.

The 2013 election was the second election in the history of parliamentary democracy in Bhutan. Initially five parties, including three new parties, were registered for the elections. However, only four parties contested the primary round as one party did not fulfill the criteria of furnishing a list of all 47 candidates to the Election Commission of Bhutan.

On 28 July, the new government, which comprised the first-ever woman minister in Bhutan, was formed with Mr. Tshering Tobgay (PDP) as the Prime Minister. The 2013 elections were declared as being free and fair by international election observers.

Four parties contested the primary round in May 2013, in which the ruling DPT won 44.52 per cent of the votes against the PDP's 32.53 per cent. Only the two leading parties in the primary elections contest the second (general) round of elections to the National Assembly.
Date of previous elections: 24 March 2008

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 20 April 2013

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry*
*A general election had to be called within 90 days of the expiry of the term of the previous legislature on 20 April (i.e. by 20 July).

Expected date of next elections: July 2018

Number of seats at stake: 47 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 94 (84 men, 10 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 8.9%

Number of parties contesting the election: 2

Number of parties winning seats: 2

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: People's Democratic Party (PDP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 2 August 2013

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Jigme Zangpo (People's Democratic Party, PDP)
Voter turnout
Round no 113 July 2013
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
252'485 (66.13%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political group Candidates Votes % of votes
People's Democratic Party (PDP)
Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total of seats
People's Democratic Party (PDP) 32
Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) 15
Distribution of seats according to sex


Percent of women


Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (29.07.2013, 01.01.2014, 14.06.2014)
Election Commission of Bhutan (26.07.2013)

This page was last updated on 10 June 2015
Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union