HOME -> PARLINE -> GEORGIA (Sakartvelos Parlamenti)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Sakartvelos Parlamenti (Parliament)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Sakartvelos Parlamenti / Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 9 January 1995
Last updated on 29 June 2012
Mode of designation directly elected 150
Constituencies - One nationwide constituency for the PR system.
- 73 single-member constituencies for the majority system.
Voting system Mixed: - 77 seats by the Proportional Representation system (closed party List system)
Parties exceeding a 5-per cent threshold are entitled to win seats under the PR system.
- 73 seats by the Majority system (first past the post): If no candidate secures 30 per cent of the valid vote, run-off elections will be held between the two leading candidates.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Georgian citizenship
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 25 years
- Georgian citizenship
- fulfilment of residence requirements
Incompatibilities - any position in a state office
- industrial activities
- membership of territorial representative body (except Abkhazian or Adjarian supreme bodies)
Candidacy requirements - proportional system: nomination by duly registered parties or blocs supported by at least 30,000 electors or already represented in Parliament
- majority system: each candidate must be nominated by a party or needs backing of at least 1000 electors unless he/she is member of outgoing legislature

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union