HOME -> PARLINE -> LUXEMBOURG (Chambre des Députés)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Chambre des Députés (Chamber of Deputies)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Chambre des Députés / Chamber of Deputies
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 18 February 2003
Last amendment: 18/02/2003
Mode of designation directly elected 60
Constituencies 4 multi-member (23 seats for the South, 21 for the Center, 9 for the North and 7 for the East) constituencies.
Voting system Proportional: Party-list proportional representation system, with seats allotted according to the Hagenbach-Bishoff method. Under this system, political groups submit lists of candidates, whose number may not exceed the number of seats to be filled in the district.
- Electors may cast a preferential vote or split their vote between different lists. Accordingly, they can either vote for a list (in which case the latter is deemed to have received a number of votes equal to the number the elector was entitled to cast) or for a particular name on any list (in which case their votes may not exceed the number of Deputies to be elected in the district concerned). Each party-list obtains as many seats as its total number of (individual candidates and list) votes encompasses the applicable quotient. Remaining seats are allotted to parties with the highest average after the second count.
- Vacancies between general elections are filled by the "next-in-line" candidates i.e., those of the same party-list who received the highest number of votes short of being elected.
- Voting is compulsory for citizens residing in the country until the age of 75. Only citizens over 75 years old and those residing abroad are allowed to vote by post. Failure to vote is punishable by a fine of between 100 and 250 euros. In case of repeated abstention over a period of five years, the fine can increase to between 500 and 1,000 euros and citizens risk having their names removed from the voters' roll.
- Elections are held every five years on the first Sunday of June. If the date coincides with Pentecost, they are held on the last Sunday of May. Parliamentary elections must be held on the same day as those to the European Parliament if they are due in June of the same year.
Voter requirements - Luxembourg citizenship;
- Age: at least 18 years on the day of the election;
- Enjoyment of full civil and political rights; and
- Residency in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.
Disqualifications: imprisonment, guardianship
Eligibility - Qualified voters
- Luxembourg citizenship
- Age: at least 18 years on election day
- Residency in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
- Persons convicted of crimes
- Persons deprived of civil and political rights
- Persons under guardianship.
Incompatibilities - membership of the Government, Council of State or Audit office
- judge
- district commissioner
- receiver or accountant of the State
- minister of religion
- teacher of primary education
- civil servant or employee of the State
- career member of the armed forces on active duty
Candidacy requirements - each candidate must be supported by at least 25 electors of the district. Any isolated candidature is considered as forming a list by itself.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union