IPU LogoGoverning Council

What is the IPU?

Latest News



Areas of activity

Functioning and documents

Finance and administration

Statutory Assemblies

point Governing Council

Executive Committee

Committees and Working Groups

Geopolitical groups

Specialized meetings

Future meetings

IPU President

Secretary General


Press Releases

PARLINE database

Women in politics - bibliographic database


Home page

The Governing Council (formerly called Inter-Parliamentary Council) is the plenary policy-making body of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. A number of committees and working groups are subordinated to it and report to the Council on their work. The President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union is ex-officio President of the Governing Council.

RulesThe Council establishes the annual programme and budget of the Union, is responsible for the admission or suspension of members and Associate Members, and establishes the list of Assembly observers. Occasionally, the Council considers substantive issues and adopts thematic resolutions and policy statements, the most recent of which are listed below. The Governing Council is composed of three representatives from each member parliament. The Council works according to its Rules.

Results of the session For detailed information on the deliberations of the Council sessions held in recent years and on thematic resolutions and reports adopted by the Council, use the table below. When available, you can download a summary record of the corresponding Council session and a complete electronic version of a brochure containing the Results of the Assembly and related meetings.

Council session Records Thematic resolutions and reports
201st session
St-Petersburg (russian Federation)
15 and 18 October 2017
200th session
Dhaka (Bangladesh)
30 March and 5 April 2017
199th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
21 and 27 October 2016
198th session
Lusaka (Zambia)
20 and 23 March 2016
197th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
18 and 21 October 2015
196th session
Hanoi (Viet Nam)
29 March and 1 April 2015
195th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
13 and 16 October 2014
194th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
17 and 20 March 2014
193rd session
Geneva (Switzerland)
7 and 9 October 2013
192nd session
Quito (Ecuador)
23, 26 and 27 March 2013
191st session
Quebec City (Canada)
22 and 24 October 2012
190th session
Kampala (Uganda)
1 and 5 April 2012
189th session
Bern (Switzerland)
16 and 19 October 2011
188th session
Panama City (Panama)
16 and 20 April 2011
187th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
4 and 6 October 2010
186th session
Bangkok (Thailand)
28 March and 1 April 2010
185th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
19 and 21 October 2009
184th session
Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)
6 and 10 April 2009
183rd session
Geneva (Switzerland)
13, 14 and 15 October 2008
182nd session
Cape Town (South Africa)
13 and 18 April 2008
181st session
Geneva (Switzerland)
8, 9 and 10 October 2007
180th session
Nusa Dua, Bali (Indonesia)
30 April and 4 May 2007
179th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
16, 17 and 18 October 2006
178th session
Nairobi (Kenya)
8 and 12 May 2006
177th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
18 October 2005
176th session
Manila (Philippines)
3 and 8 April 2005
175th session
Geneva (Switzerland)
28 September and 1 October 2004
174th session
Mexico City (Mexico)
19 and 23 April 2004
173rd session
Geneva (Switzerland)
1 and 3 October 2003
172nd session
Santiago (Chile)
7, 9 and 12 April 2003
171st session and the
Special Session
Geneva (Switzerland)
25 - 27 September 2002
170th session
Marrakech (Morocco)
18, 19, 21 and 23 March 2002
169th session
Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso)
10, 11, 13 and 14 September 2001
168th session
Havana (Cuba)
2 and 7 April 2001
167th session
Jakarta (Indonesia)
16 and 21 October 2000
166th session
Amman (Jordan)
1 and 6 May 2000
165th session
Berlin (Germany)
11 and 16 October 1999
164th session
Brussels (Belgium)
11 and 16 April 1999
163rd session
Moscow (Russia)
12 September 1998
162nd session
Windhoek (Namibia)
11 April 1998
161st session
Cairo (Egypt)
16 September 1997
160th session
Seoul (Republic of Korea)
12 April 1997
159th session
Beijing (China)
21 September 1996
158th session
Istanbul (Turkey)
20 April 1996

157th session
Bucharest (Romania)
14 October 1995
154th session
Paris (France)
26 March 1994
153rd session
Canberra (Australia)
13 September 1993
152nd session
New Delhi (India)
17 April 1993
151st session
Stockholm (Sweden)
12 September 1992

UN 50On the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the United Nations, the Inter-Parliamentary Council held a Special Session at the UN Headquarters in New York and adopted a Declaration entitled "The parliamentary vision for international co-operation into the 21st century".